Why I haven’t been updating my company blog

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry
Published in
2 min readApr 13, 2017

It’s a question of time, but also, of value.

When I started Feather Laundry, I started the blog series first and foremost as a way to keep myself accountable publicly. I was afraid if I didn’t publicize my progress, I wouldn’t make any. But accountability is no longer an issue. This year the company has reached a point where there is more work than there is time to do it. Admittedly, it’s a good problem to have.

Feather Laundry Lifetime Gross Sales

Now I have to be more picky about how I spend my time and I’m choosing to spend it where I can bring the most value to the most people. That means more time devoted to The Writing Cooperative, and less time devoted to this series.

That doesn’t mean, though, that I’ve stopped focusing on Feather. On the contrary I’m about to sign a lease tomorrow on a space near downtown Dallas, and I’ve been zipping through milestones that I thought would take much longer to hit.

I’m going into this place with almost no money to pay for it. I have enough operating capital to last literally 2 months. If I don’t ramp up sales immediately I will be out of business by the end of summer. But I’m not going to let that happen.

This is why self awareness is so important. I know myself well enough to know that I work much harder and much better under pressure. This lease is going to create tremendous pressure. I have to respond by being faster and being more efficient with the way I spend my time.

Sadly, that’s bad news for this series. I have to sacrifice it for the greater good.

I may post small updates like this one from time to time, but the next 6 months are going to be hardcore.

--

--

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry

I walk through mind fields. Cat lover. Writer. Entrepreneur. Cofounder of The Writing Cooperative.