How to Promote Your Stories Within Medium

You don’t need social media to gain views and followers

Burk
Feedium

--

Photo by John Schnobrich on Unsplash

We know it by now. Great writing is not enough in today’s online world. With a mindblowing 7.5 million blog posts published each day, it’s basically impossible to be discovered through great writing only. That leaves us writers with three other options to get views.

  1. Perfecting SEO techniques. I’m NOT going to talk about those today
  2. Consistency. Writing is a marathon, not a sprint.
  3. Promoting your work. On social media, if you like, but also within Medium.

I will focus on the third option here.

Intro

I’ve been writing on Medium for about 4 months now. So, I’m still a newbie. I managed to get a fairly decent viewership, read ratio, two bonuses, and 1900 followers in that time, however. Let me shed some light on how I did that and how I think promoting on Medium gives you good results. I’ll also give you the perfect example of these tips at the end of my post.

1. Write great stuff and refer back to it

The first two steps don’t contain much promoting at all. Still, they’re vital for success on Medium and elsewhere because they pull together all three…

--

--

Burk
Feedium

1.5M+ reads online — Check out my newsletter for free stuff & more https://byburk.net