Photo by Angélica Echeverry on Unsplash

Where Are Medium Member Fees Going?

A well-intentioned experiment raises troubling questions.

Christopher M. Cook
Published in
3 min readJun 8, 2020

--

Sometimes experiments return unexpected results. New and unanticipated questions are raised. Questions like, what percentage of my membership fee goes directly to writers? And, what percentage goes to Medium? I don’t think Medium shares this information. If I’m wrong, please correct me.

As members, and as writers, we deserve to know how fees are divided.

I’m not arguing for a full breakdown of Medium’s finances. Still, we should know, at least, what approximate percentage of our membership dollars goes directly to writers.

I started an experiment a couple months ago. I set up a second membership account. I used this account to read and clap for only one story a month. The impetus for this experiment was to reward excellent writing on Medium. If you would like to know more about the background and breakdown of my original plan, I wrote an article about it here — https://medium.com/feedium/how-to-reward-excellent-writing-on-medium-7404226c0477?source=friends_link&sk=e7dd6adf7cb6c921a17411cc88572444

In theory, only reading and reacting to one story a month should mean that the full portion of my membership fee reserved for writers would go to that one article.

--

--