It’s That Simple!

Random word is Freak (193)

Neera Handa Dr
Fiction Shorts
2 min readJul 12, 2024

--

Created in NightCafe by Author

In a freak accident, when I broke my heal and dropped my groceries in front of a huge, beautiful house, the owner helped and invited me in.

“How do you keep it so clean?” I cried. As keeping a house, and a husband, without domestic help, or family support, I was going crazy!

“It’s simple, take a leaf out of my book”, picking up the book, she’d been reading, she waved me to sit.

The title made me smile.

How to kill your husband and other handy household hints!*

I really needed her recipe for living in this new country.

The leaf out of her book is naturally about other household tricks, like using good cleaning products, I am sure.

*“How to kill your husband (and other handy household hints) written by Kathy Lathe is a comic novel about a sacrificing good wife who gets arrested for killing her husband.

This drabble is in response to the random word Freak, with a twister, set by Nancy Oglesby.

The twister is that in the story there has to be a recipe of some kind.

https://medium.com/fiction-shorts/mixed-up-july-random-drabble-194-a9f80e99717e

The drabble I loved about a different type of recipe is by Denée King

Here’s a link to her story

https://medium.com/fiction-shorts/its-still-a-free-country-isn-t-it-7c83acfc937a

--

--

Neera Handa Dr
Fiction Shorts

Top writer in poetry & Sustainability, compulsive writer, reading, writing just about anything. I write daily, have published a PhD, a book & academic articles.