DRABBLE | RANDOM | FICTION | FLASH FICTION | FICTION SHORTS

The Greatest Discovery in History

The solution to all of mankind's problems had been found…

Eva MacInnes
Fiction Shorts
Published in
2 min readJan 11, 2024

--

The random word of the day is SCIENTIST.

Two female scientists looking into a double microscope. Photo in black and white.
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

It was the discovery of the century, perhaps even the millennia. The solution to life as we know it. With it, we could right all the wrongs.

The top scientists and most important dignitaries from around the world gathered to witness the machine’s first human trials. This was the true test of time travel.

They stood together behind a thick glass window and watched the first human traveler step into the box. One scientist hit a big red button and poof, the traveler was gone.

The scientist muttered under her breath, “Well, that was uneventful.”

And they all meandered away.

This daily drabble prompt 11 Random Word Drabble Challenge is by Nancy Oglesby in Fiction Shorts.

Thank you for reading my drabble. I’d love to hear your responses.

You can check out some more of my writing and follow me here.
(She, Her) I am a writer, an artist and a freelance editor. I write a little bit of everything, whatever is on my mind at the moment

--

--

Eva MacInnes
Fiction Shorts

(She, Her) I am a writer, an artist, and a freelance editor. I write a little bit of everything, whatever is on my mind at the moment.