Convenience

Bhavin Prajapati
fiftytwo250
Published in
2 min readOct 21, 2019

As revolutionary as smartphones are, fundamentals around convenience never change.

“$1.11 a litre”

I saw the fuel price and immediately pulled in. Gas hasn’t been cheap for a few weeks now and my unwillingness to pay high prices resulted in a near empty tank. Typical.

I filled up.

I sauntered into the convenience store to pay, but I had to wait in line. I try to have all the requisite items for the transaction ready, so I pulled out my phone to load the wallet app. My turn came up and the wallet app crashed. I saw my home screen.

Photo by CÔPAL on Unsplash

But I got a glimpse of my phone over the counter in the background. Quickly refocused my eyes and as it adjusted, the counter began to look like a smartphone home screen. I paused. I saw a colourful and dazzling array of chocolate bars, candy, toys, accessories, maps, vape liquids, chips, lottery tickets, and magazines; all neatly arranged like my apps, each an icon of temptation through boredom.

Photo by Maulik Sutariya on Unsplash

OK, back to reality. I re-opened the wallet app, paid, and left.

Before driving off, I sat in my car thinking about what I just saw. As revolutionary as smartphones are, fundamentals around convenience never change. Momentary lapses of our judgement allow us to mindlessly scroll through Facebook when the slightest pinch of boredom creeps in, just like the slightest pinch of boredom to compels us to buy chocolate because the checkout line is too long.

Dopamine. Love and hate it.

--

--

Bhavin Prajapati
fiftytwo250

#healthTech #productManagement #design #writing #fitness #systems