Interstitial Procrastination — #1

Bhavin Prajapati
fiftytwo250
Published in
2 min readNov 19, 2018
Photo by Jay Wen on Unsplash

I am currently at the airport… writing, but I am not writing a random, recurring, rumination 😔.

Over the last week I delayed my fourth post. It hurt that my post was delayed because I had every intention to share it on Remembrance Day (Nov 11), but I didn’t. I had other commitments.

Consequently, I posted “Tolerating Freedom” yesterday and it wasn’t my best foot forward, but I am happy nonetheless that I posted something on a Sunday. Unfortunately, I am still behind a week.

What bothers me the most is that as I reflect, I had interstitials throughout and did not write or edit the aforementioned post. My environment was primed and headspace was clear. All systems were go, yet delay ensued.

Today I had a meeting with Dr. Tim Pychyl, leading expert in the phenomena around procrastination, and discussed my struggles with it which I thought were over. Ironically, I had to remind myself of his famous saying, “not all delay is procrastination, but all procrastination is delay”.

Admittedly I procrastinated and this is likely going to happen again. Thus, as negative reinforcement, I won’t get to write about a random, recurring rumination. Instead within 52 | 250 (fifty two two fifty), I am starting a series called Interstitial Procrastination where I would have to write about why I procrastinated (this time it was lack of goal setting).

I sincerely hope I write as little of these interstitial posts as possible 😫.

--

--

Bhavin Prajapati
fiftytwo250

#healthTech #productManagement #design #writing #fitness #systems