Made in Canada

Bhavin Prajapati
fiftytwo250
Published in
2 min readDec 22, 2019

Aren’t there domestic alternatives? Where are they!?

Many years ago I fell for a stupid Facebook ad for some hoodie; impulse begets. It took many weeks to arrive, likely from China. Whatever, I’ll wait.

Photo by chuttersnap on Unsplash

I eventually get the product and it was like something out of the expectations vs reality subreddit. I was upset because I wasted $20 when I had no income.

Annoyed, I perused the literature on how modern products are sourced. It dawned on me that such exploitation was the result of massive supply chains that fuel “institutions” like Walmart or H&M. Some goods are just scraps that are re-purposed on channels like Facebook for gullible fools (like me). Sadly it works.

Photo by Ksenia Makagonova on Unsplash

One day, I was shopping at the mall and the problem just seemed evermore prevalent across all retail channels. Why am I buying these items? Aren’t there domestic alternatives? Where are they!?

Like the Titan Prometheus giving fire to humans, an epiphany arrived through the Economist… the return of the merchant class. Merchants are back in full force… craftsmanship and care included.

A quick Google later, I found an incredible number of new businesses making a footprint online selling CANADIAN MADE goods. Even Drake is in on the game.

The internet has made business and e-commerce much more accessible than it once was. The merchant story that shaped civilization has returned to reseed our future.

The merchants are being heard again but I am afraid too many of us are still drawn to the seductive monoliths of old.

Monolith 2001: Spacey Odyssey - Source: https://www.ivantclark.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/Stanley-Kubrik-ivantclark_com-705x1024.jpg

Word count: 247
Twitter: @bhavprajapati

52 | 250 (fifty two | two fifty), a collection of random, recurring, ruminations written with patience for depth and brevity. Each post is written over the course of a week in 250 words or less as a personal exercise of freedom and focus in a time of placid tumult and despair.

--

--

Bhavin Prajapati
fiftytwo250

#healthTech #productManagement #design #writing #fitness #systems