My Fundamentals — Sleeping on the Floor

Bhavin Prajapati
fiftytwo250
Published in
2 min readJan 31, 2021

During physiotherapy, my injury started to feel worse and I wondered if it was my bed. Maybe I got the wrong mattress and it’s only now starting to cause problems?

Growing up, I didn’t have the traditional Canadian upbringing and thus I rarely went to the cottage. In fact, I never went camping and I want to… badly. Recently, I’ve been romanticizing the ascetic spartan pleasure of camping because of my injury.

Having lower back pain is interesting. During physiotherapy, my injury started to feel worse and I wondered if it was my bed. Maybe I got the wrong mattress and it’s only now starting to cause problems?

With some research, I discovered folks find sleeping on the floor alleviates some pain, mostly because it’s harder for your spine to enter a neutral position on a mattress.

Floor it is, I had nothing to lose.

I go back and forth between the floor and the bed these days, depending on how I feel. The experience made me think about the bed differently. Why do we require so much comfort for sleeping? For thousands of years we slept on the ground… hell my parents grew up sleeping on the floor and none of them have back problems.

Aside from the pain reprieve, there is a real humility to sleep on the floor. I’m not elevated in comfort, “grounding” me with gratitude about my hardships.

Humility through sleep discomfort is a welcomed fundamental that ironically brought me a lot of comfort to my life. Best of all, I will never have to worry about sleeping anywhere. I can camp anywhere, just get me a pillow and a quilt and I’m good.

--

--

Bhavin Prajapati
fiftytwo250

#healthTech #productManagement #design #writing #fitness #systems