The Other Side of Diatribe

Bhavin Prajapati
fiftytwo250
Published in
2 min readDec 23, 2018
Photo by Tamara Menzi on Unsplash

Like tools in a garage, I always appreciated how each word is specific for its purpose. I enjoy probing words to imbibe myself for additional lexicon and etymological facts.

For example, the word ruminate is derived from ruminant, an even toed hoofed animal. Ruminate is not simply thinking, it’s metaphorically active as
“chewing”. I wouldn’t supplant ruminate as a synonym for “thinking”, it must be used in a deeper and more purposeful context.

I recently looked up diatribe. I always understood diatribe as a verbal criticism against a particular subject; often used by authors as a literary device for character dialogue. However, additional research yielded that diatribe can also be satirical; this tilted me.

Is my blog a diatribe of satirical nature?

My posts occasionally criticize certain subjects, but I write with genuine conviction, sparked by a curious thought heavily triturated over a week. Although I see how my dramatic use of superlatives can alter a reader’s perception of the content; still as indicated earlier, it’s naively genuine.

I’m fond of satire as many whom are acquainted with me know. I looked up satire and the etymology stems from Latin’s satur, i.e. “poetic medley”. Yet, I wouldn’t suggest my posts are poetic either.

I really don’t know. If anything, I may have just obfuscated diatribe and satire, fueling my own demise.

Oh well, it’s fun writing and in the end it doesn’t even matter.(?)

#embracenihilism

--

--

Bhavin Prajapati
fiftytwo250

#healthTech #productManagement #design #writing #fitness #systems