Will Movie Theaters Survive?

Julíssa
Film Cut
Published in
3 min readAug 9, 2021

--

Disney + Image

I got to say, movie theaters got hit hard these past few weeks, and it may be because of Disney+. I have written a few posts on Black Widow, which you can check out here, but this film is a perfect example that if filmmakers keep giving viewers a choice to watch at home, movie theaters will not survive.

Black Widow Vs. Disney

We have seen this drama unfold through Black Widow not making as many earnings as they thought they would because the film also shows on Disney +. Movie theaters may be at the threat of disappearing. I personally don’t believe Black Widow was worth a movie to be shown in theaters; it could have been something like Loki or WandaVision. A lot of money could have been made from making it into a show because more complex ideas could have had space to be broken down. I am sure many people could also agree with my opinion, and the way Marvel works is by word of mouth. If a family member told me I was better off watching it at home, that is what I would have done (and they did after I went to see it). This is such a big problem because it is to the point where Johansson is taking legal action due to her being promised an exclusive theatrical release.

What Other Films Are Trying To Do

While in theaters, I have seen many movie commercials that included “only in…

--

--

Julíssa
Film Cut

UEA| Travel Writing| Film Reviews| History Buff| Thoughts| 21