💡Validator Spotlight — Octeka 💡

Validator Spotlights showcase the amazing people working to guarantee the security and decentralization of the Findora blockchain.

Daniel W Finley
Findora Foundation
3 min readOct 14, 2022

--

1) Tell Us About Yourself

Hello, my name is Patrick, I’m from Quebec/Canada, and I run the Octeka validator on Findora.

I’ve been in the gaming industry for almost 20 years, working on a lot of well-known titles for companies like 2K and Ubisoft. I’ve worked in various roles, but my main ones were Build Master and Engine/Tools Programmer.

Also, I have some great experience in cloud computing and building cloud architecture from the bare metal. I do have a full server rack at home running OpenStack with Kubernetes, compiling code, running builds, and yes, also validating.

I’m very passionate about all technology-related stuff, and cryptocurrencies are one of my main interests.

2) What brought you into crypto/web3 in the first place?

In the early days of ETH, a friend of mine was pushing blockchain mining, so I decided to build myself a mining rig and try my hand at it.

Even though Web3 has grown a lot, I still believe we are in its early days, still exploring/pushing its potential. So, I wanted to be part of the next big thing, and I think this is it.

3) What is your experience in validating or web3 in general?

I’ve been playing around with Solidity to interact with smart contracts and went to the bottom of it by creating some .net and golang tools that helped me learn most of it. I might use that knowledge to build an app or a game, not sure which yet!

I’m also currently running a validator on both Findora and Harmony using multiple nodes at different locations to make sure to have good uptime, with metrics and alerts set up in case of emergencies.

4) What makes your operation unique? Why should delegators stake with you?

Like most of my fellow validators, we are here to provide a solid, reliable validating service to anyone who would like to stake with us.

We have servers located in Canada, the United States, and also in Europe for redundancy and reliability.

Also, we keep a close look at our servers metrics, to make sure we always have the proper hardware and that everything is running smoothly. We use an alerting system to make sure we respond as quickly as possible to any problem that could happen.

Right now, we don’t have any commission fees, but when it happens, it will never go higher than 5%, and the gains will be used to stake on other validators.

5) Why do you want to validate with Findora?

Like some of us, we learned about Findora from the Harmony.ONE community, and we liked the key idea of privacy.

Also, things seem to be moving for the chain, and it seems to have more and more communications every week, so we believe that bringing our validating experience to this chain is a great next step for us.

6) Where can our community go to learn more about you or contact you? Do you have a validator dashboard link?

We are currently building our website, but we are always reachable through Twitter or Telegram (@octeka_one). You can see our findorascan profile here.

Learn more about Octeka on findorascan.io

About Findora

Scaling privacy for the future of Web3.

Findora builds privacy through advanced zero-knowledge proof cryptography. An innovative layer-1, it combines a native UTXO ledger optimized for privacy with an EVM extension for programmability and interoperability. Developers can leverage either model as they build dApps with auditable privacy.

We appreciate our developers and would love to onboard you to the Findora ecosystem. Please reach out, and join our social channels for more.

Discord | Reddit | Telegram | Twitter | Medium | LinkedIn | Facebook

--

--

Daniel W Finley
Findora Foundation

· Exploring Web3 · Crypto content writer · Always ready to collaborate · Reach out at @CryptoKenshiro on the bird app