FLINT AND STEEL FREEWRITING FRIDAY

How I Would like to Be Remembered

Writing my obituary as an aspirational guide for the rest of my life

Sorina Raluca Băbău
Flint and Steel
Published in
3 min readJan 13, 2022

--

I hadn’t been very active on Medium in December. Could be because of the cold weather, I found myself to be in more of a hibernating mode. I felt like everything was slowing down, making room for contemplation and daydreaming.

Even though this prompt Freewriting Friday: How Will You Leave Your Mark? was posted in December, by the lovely editor of this wonderful publication,

, I only felt inspired to write about it today.

I remember doing a similar exercise during my psychotherapy training. It was called ‘Writing your obituary exercise.’ I wrote mine that time but because I was late for the class, I didn’t get the chance to present it in front of my colleagues.

It’s funny because that was the only time I was actually late for any of my courses. But I guess it wasn’t the right time back then. And I feel like this prompt somehow gave me the chance to do so now, in front of a much larger audience. It feels a bit scary to open up in front of so many people’s screens, but I shall do it nonetheless because I feel like this is the right thing to do.

I know that writing an obituary on yourself whilst you’re still alive might sound morbid, but in actual fact is a great tool for living intentionally. It can give you clarity, direction, understanding, and a greater sense of purpose. It’s almost like the future you is taking a look back at the present you, having a nice chat and re-directing your course.

“This is one of the great advantages of writing our own obituary now, while we’re still in mid-life, or even late life. It gives us an opportunity to live our lives more intentionally. We have time to re-direct our course, and veer away from the shoals of future regret.”

— David Evans

Finding out who I really was has been an ongoing journey for many years now. It still is, but I do feel like I have a better idea now of who I really am and what I would like my legacy to be. Our true core is imprinted on your psycho-spiritual DNA. Is only a matter of listening to our hearts and hearing what they have to say to us.

I would like people to remember me when I’m gone from this material world that I was a loving and caring soul. That I had the courage to live the life aligned with my soul and not with other people’s expectations. That I gave myself permission to reach my highest potential. That I helped people who were struggling or those who simply were in need of guidance heal, reconnect with their authentic selves, and achieve their dreams through therapy sessions, books I have written, or tangible things such as building schools or centers for those in need. That I was a loving and supportive daughter, mother, and wife. That I was a good friend.

I guess, if I were to sum it all up, I would like to be remembered for being in service to others and the positive impact I made during my stay here. For being able to bring some warmth and comfort to others whilst staying true to myself.

Let me know if you have ever done this exercise of writing your obituary as a guidance tool. I would love to hear your take on it.

Thank you for reading! I appreciate you!

--

--

Sorina Raluca Băbău
Flint and Steel

Clinical Psychologist. Integrative Psychotherapist. Writer. Dreamer. Traveler. Pet lover. Avid reader. Chocolate's biggest fan. Yoga practitioner.