Go Ask Zara

A semi-anonymous teenage confession

Zara Everly
Fluency of Zara Everly

--

Photo by Mikail Duran on Unsplash

I did a lot of incredibly stupid things when I was a teenager.

I was just reading Michelle Brown’s story about her own teen-induced stupidity and it made me think of my own past.

It made me think of one incident specifically.

I went through a pothead phase between the ages of fifteen and seventeen. I always assume this is the same for all Gen Xers although I have learned that is not necessarily true.

I wanted to live! I was hungry for experience and drugs seemed to be the ticket.

I read a lot as a teenager. I specifically fell head over heels for the Beat Generation as well as the hippie movement.

I wanted to know all about peace, free love, and drugs.

I wanted to “break on through to the other side.” I embraced Rimbaud’s idea that “The poet makes himself a seer by a long, prodigious, and rational disordering of all the senses.”

Drugs! It was about drugs!

I mainly smoked pot with some hash and occasional mescaline or acid-fueled trips. I experimented with alcohol but I really liked drugs, especially pot.

--

--

Zara Everly
Fluency of Zara Everly

Writing and research information professional. Bibliophile. Forever English major. Literary harlot.