Ellipsoid

The Ideation Process — Part 1

Fọlábòmí Àmọ̀ó
Fọlá’s Corner
Published in
3 min readApr 27, 2022

--

The image above is not the cover of the book. It is neither the title. This is a cover that was made in the early stages of the development of my thirteenth book, Ellipsoid.

I would like to document and share the ideation process with you. I would love for you to be a part of this journey. I hope to release it before the end of 2022.

A Home for Poetry

I want to get my website up and running so I can sell this book and all my previous releases. Most of my books are designed, and there are not enough reputable websites that allow you to sell the PDF version of your book. The ePub format seems to be the darling of the internet.

I want the website to be a home for all my writing. It will house my poems and all my books; both free and for sale. It will allow you to download (free books) and read on the website.

Breakdown

My hope for Ellipsoid is to make it my biggest project yet. The book is based on nature and its elements.

It will be divided into four parts — “Atmosphere”, “Hydrosphere”, “Lithosphere” and “Biosphere”. Each part will focus on what they mean.

Atmosphere will contain poems about the atmosphere. It is divided into two chapters; “Wind” and “The Skies”.

Hydrosphere will contain poems about water. Also divided into two chapters; “Bodies of Water” and “Precipitation”.

Lithosphere is divided into two chapters. “Minerals” and “Backdrop”.

Lastly, Biosphere will be divided into three chapters. “Trees”, The Wild” and “Homo Sapiens”.

The Title

According to NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration), “The Earth is an irregularly shaped ellipsoid”. I wanted a title that encapsulates all the elements related to the earth. Hence, “Ellipsoid”.

Poem Count

Each chapter will contain a minimum of ten poems. Each part will contain a minimum of twenty poems, with Biosphere; a minimum of thirty. That brings the minimum count to 100.

I have set my target at 125. This will also include all extras, chapter introductions, front matter and back matter. At this moment, the number of “approved/accepted” poems stands at 84. Not too shabby.

Ideation Continues

As always, the book will be designed by Adédàpọ̀ Akínbọ̀dé. He will design a new cover; something that captures all the elements of the book. We have outlined how it will be designed, and we will be ready to go once the poems have been written and arranged.

Conclusion

I wish to share this journey with anyone that wants to come along with me. I hope this series of articles about the book will give you a better experience when the book is released.

All elements of the book are subject to change as the process continues. That is why this medium is good, I get to update you of any changes or developments.

See you in the next one!

©️ Fọlábòmí Àmọ̀ó 2022

As I mentioned, Ellipsoid will be my thirteenth book. Of the twelve, nine of them are free, and three are for sale. You can get a copy of any one of them at the link below:

Lastly, follow my account. I write cool shit.

--

--