Credit: Glenn Carsten-Peters on Unsplash

Designer Cheat Sheet

Use this cheat sheet to decipher what your designers are really saying

Joanna Ngai
Published in
1 min readSep 26, 2016

--

Let’s evolve the brand = Your logo sucks

Is this all we have to work with? = I have no idea what you want me to do

This is unsophisticated = It’s ugly

We should follow existing design patterns = This works weird

Let’s make it more minimal = It’s hopelessly cluttered

Design isn’t just about making things look pretty = Prettiness can’t save it

Design is iterative = I put this together last minute

This is on-trend = I saw this on dribbble and I liked it

That might work but… = That won’t work

We can test it with users = I’m right but you’re stubborn

Inspired by Sarah Cooper’s Software Engineer Cheat Sheet

Did you find this useful? Buy me a coffee to give my brain a hug. 🍵

Follow Foobar comics for more random oddities. And feel free to check out my design work if you’d like.

--

--