Awakening My Writer Self

Salutation to sunrise

Dee Rhymes With Tree
For Awe
1 min readJul 3, 2023

--

Black and white film photography by the author

Stirred into being

Joy and wonderment!

Gentle morning light

Colours my senses.

‘Salutation to sunrise’ is a poem that I’m fortunate to say was published (with other sunrise photography that I’ve taken) in GlassGatesPublishing’s free online journal (Issue 4, 2023) which’s freely available to read and accepts diverse art form submissions seasonally on a theme.

Begin again

I want to start this venture courageously on Medium. It feels apt to offer art and words ode to sunrise, a chance to begin again.

I am here to find inspiration and access poetry written democratically by diverse folks.

It’s already heartening to see the openness of writers in the community. It was a powerful prompt to post after reading Jenny Justice’s story on the “intrinsic value” of continuing with sharing your poetry online.

Posting writing was something I did with greater ease in the past whilst I completed (read survived) a PhD. But a few breakdowns, chronic pain, the grueling process of complex trauma recovery have stacked and squashed my confidence as a writer. Here’s to changing that.

Dee Lister (they/theirs) is a visual artist, published photographer, and writer who plays in trees. Dee’s based in Bolton, UK. https://www.linktr.ee/deelisterphotos

--

--

Dee Rhymes With Tree
For Awe

Words and art by one who wears their art on their blood and grass stained dungarees. Dee Lister. She/they