How to Make Your Raspberry Pi 4 Faster with a 64 Bit Kernel

Al Williams
For Linux Users
Published in
4 min readAug 23, 2020

--

We can make it faster, better…

The Raspberry Pi 4 Can Operate in 64-bit Mode

When I first set up my Raspberry Pi 4 to use as a desktop computer, I wanted a 64-bit operating system. After all, using all the CPU bits should be more efficient and it allows faster access to memory, especially using the 4 or 8 GB model. But I quickly ran into a problem: Many of the third-party programs I wanted to use were not available for 64-bit yet. Vivaldi — a really good Chromium-based Browser isn’t available for the 64-bit operating system yet. There are several 64-bit operating systems, including a beta of Raspbian, but they all have various compatibility issues.

Granted, you can probably figure out how to turn on multiarch and load all the various dependencies. I did try. But I eventually got frustrated and just installed Raspian. It works. But it turns out, there is a way to get some of the benefits of a 64-bit operating system but still keep the 32-bit “userland” so that all the familiar software will still work. It just works better.

--

--

Al Williams
For Linux Users

Engineer. Author. Team Leader. Lots of other things. I blog about hardware hacking for Hackaday (www.hackaday.com), but talk about other topics here.