Why I can’t read books on the iPad

Michael MacPherson
For my 4th and final app
4 min readApr 4, 2018

I love my iPad. I really do, it’s my favourite thing to have in my lap.

Hello darling

But I’m also cursed with the inability to put away my electronic devices. I’ve accepted that I will always check my phone every 5 or 10 minutes.

I am a part of the generation that is not capable of escaping our mobile phones. I’ve heard a lot of good stories about how putting down your phone is good for your health. I’m not yet ready to do that.

As a result, I get distracted very easily.

Now, I have read good books on my iPad.

But I’ve also read boring books, and it is very difficult reading a boring book on an iPad.

If even the slightest thought enters my brain while I’m reading said boringness, I can tap the screen twice, and I’m in some new app.

And then I’m looking up what’s going on with Trump this week.

And there’s some tech company violating some ethics.

And there are three puppies holding hands.

And oh shit right I’m reading a book. Ok. Book. Reading the book. Let’s read this book. Book time.

I wrote an article 18 months ago about this problem. The capacity to focus on something for an extended period of time such a problem in society today, that Apple’s investors are now suggesting they look into it.

The solution I presented is called Focus Modes. Whenever I’d want to read a book, I’d enter ‘Book Mode’, and my iPad would look like this:

Finally, a use for the phone app

To help combat my frantic screen pressing habit, I wouldn’t be able to exit this mode to go back to my home screen without a 1 minute delay.

I initially posted the article in an attempt to get some marketing attention for my first app Endship, which absolutely did not work. However, How to turn a smartphone into a flip phone, which explains Focus Modes in depth, ended up being way more popular than anything else I’ve written.

The Legend of Justin Trudeau was written in 20 minutes, in Thailand, at 3am, very high

Sadly, it turns out Apple and Google don’t read my blog, so until they do, I’ll keep moaning, if only for the reason that I don’t really have much to complain about, but still have that complain-y energy inside of me.

So, how’s dat app?

If you haven’t been following along, here is part 1 and 2.

Percentage Complete: 3

Not gonna lie, building a prototype in a year is starting to look a lot less likely.

Two large decisions were made this month:

Node.js

While last month involved a big decision on the front end, this month had one about the back end. I had looked into Google’s Firebase to store everything to do with the server, because it turns out Firebase can do everything.

However, I ended up deciding it’ll be more fun building out the server with node.js. That way, the entire app will be built using one language — JavaScript.

Blockchain

I’ve been debating using one of two new possible technologies to incorporate — machine learning or blockchain.

I’m not going into machine learning, but this xckd comic explains it better than I can.

I don’t know what linear algebra is either.

For those of who don’t know, blockchain is a whole bunch of complex ideas that I don’t understand and can’t explain, so I’m taking a 12 week blockchain course with Lighthouse Labs so I can learn how to blockchain.

Here’s what I know so far about it:

  • can safely store secure records
  • is very super extra difficult to hack
  • powers cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin and Ethereum

The program starts in May, so I’m excited to get up to speed on all things blockychainy. I’ll be taking a blockchain Udemy course in the meantime to keep myself occupied.

Until next time, here’s a song that I like walking to because it makes me feel like each step I take is another keystroke of code writing.

--

--