All the things which are wrong with this blog..

Christopher Marks
From Dad
Published in
3 min readJul 24, 2018

At the moment of writing, my son Lucas is about 270 days old. Here I leave some learnings I want to document and will share with him once the time is right. If you’re not Lucas — I hope this will add value to your life. If you feel like it, share your ideas and make it better!

Isn’t it ironic.. The things I wish to achieve with this publication are in a way witholding you from learning those lessons in the first place.

Today, I saw a ted talk which was discussion the question: “ Why do we do what we do?”.

It got me thinking..

We have our routine. We have our hobbies, go to university, have a job and if you are following the list of my last post, you’re having a sh!tload to think about. Even nowadays, I see a lot of kids checking a lot of boxes parents create for them. Learn an instrument, have a social life, do their homework, start a side business, learn a 3rd language, be funny, be honest, look amazing. Blahblahblah…

All to live the perfect life.
But why?

Why did I even create this blog?
Why must you follow the list of all these impossible things to do?
Do you live a better life by doing so?
And if you are, how would you know?
In fact, what must you do?

To be honest Lucas. My believe is that the purpose to life is what you give to it. I hope I’ve inspired you by now to be a good human. To give more than you take and do a lot of things which I’ve written (or will still) write about. But always remember that you’re the architect of your life. It belongs to no one else than you.

There is however one thing in life what (I think) you owe for being on this world. The only thing you owe life itself. Is to live it deliberately.

Go left, but only if you feel that’s the way. Move to Spain if you think that’s where you future lays. Open a lemonade stand business if that’s where your passion is. But always ask why, be comfortable with your decisions and give it a 100%. I guess you have your youth to discover a lot of these questions. To understand what makes you tick and to learn what really drives you. I’d advice to use that time, so you’re able to live it deliberately.

I realise that most lessons I learned, I learned by experiencing them.
By literally going through terror. Feeling the pain of my mistakes and making sure that never happens again. And since we often want to avoid terror for ourselves and the ones we love, I try to write to share my €0.02 and help you prepare for stuff.

So please don’t take these lessons as the100% truth. They’re literally just my thoughts and experiences to helping you make most out of life.

Love,
Dad.

--

--

Christopher Marks
From Dad

Author. Thinker & entrepreneur. I publish lessons learned for my son on my blog: From dad. Feel free to add to them and make them better.