Instead Of Getting Fried or Firing Up

I Had To Find Authentic Ways To Boogie Woogie With Life

Sam David ParkeršŸŒø
Gain Inspiration
4 min readSep 5, 2023

--

A young woman stands in front of a pasture gate, her arms open wide. She smiles and appears happy.
Photo by ŞULE MAKAROĞLU on Unsplash

Didnā€™t we want to go higher, faster, longer sometimes?

What about those pills you heard someone used to stay up all night cramming for an exam? Donā€™t those performance-enhancing drugs work? At least until you get caught.

By now, I know that enhancing emotions takes time and patience. The little bit of weed in 1975 that cost $20 for a ā€œlidā€ had seeds that popped out of the wheat straw rollie, but it wasnā€™t all that.

Drugs didnā€™t get me to the place of my dreams; they only took me to my castle in the air.

Still, with euphoric recall, the weed was fun, the alcohol was excellent, and I let the good times roll enough to fill my soul, forgetting the seed that popped out on my polyester slacks I wanted to wear to church the next day.

I feel my feelings when there is something to feel deeply. I am authentic when I do not have to toke it, poke it, or smoke it.

Nobody stopped thinking about those psychedelic experiences. Once youā€™ve been to some of those places, you think, ā€˜How can I get back there again but make it a little easier on myself?ā€™ ā€” Jerry Garcia

Natural highs involve strategies and practices.

If you want a great, homemade tortilla, you get out the flour, add the lard, put in water, make a ball, and roll it out, cook it, but you canā€™t eat it before you take the steps.

Back in 1975, my beloved and I enjoyed a mind control class. I still practice breathing and affirmations, finding that being in the present ensures healthy responses to my feelings.

During the years of my active rehab practice, I used the counting and breathing techniques because they were novel and grabbed the participantsā€™ attention. Today, a statement like ā€œEvery day in every way, Iā€™m getting better, better, and betterā€ is considered kinda cobwebby.

Adolescents in group therapy appear to enjoy the quiet, low-key, no pressure, and the mental feeling of riding down the elevator to relaxation. They enjoyed looking at their emotions and experiences without judgment.

Deep breathing and relaxation help manage stress and anxiety, producing more balanced emotional responses.

Other ways to improve emotional responses: Here's How You Do It!

Keep a journal to explore your thoughts and emotions in a structured way. Writing about experiences and feelings helps you better understand them.

Steady physical activity releases endorphins, which are natural mood enhancers. Exercise alleviates stress, reduces anxiety, and improves overall emotional well-being.

Proper nutrition plays a role in emotional well-being. A balanced diet with essential nutrients can help regulate mood and reduce emotional fluctuations.

Adequate sleep is crucial for emotional regulation. Poor sleep can lead to irritability, anxiety, and mood swings. Establishing a consistent sleep routine can improve emotional stability.

Spending time with friends and loved ones boosts happiness and belonging. Building and maintaining solid social connections can provide emotional support.

Acknowledging and appreciating positive aspects of life enhances feelings of contentment and happiness.

Trying out nature and artā€¦

ā€œNature is beautiful because it looks like Art; and Art can only be called beautiful if we are conscious of it as Art while yet it looks like Nature.ā€ā€• Immanuel Kant,

Spending time with Mother Nature and engaging in outdoor activities can have a calming and rejuvenating effect on emotions.

Engaging in artistic activities like painting, writing, music, or dancing can be therapeutic and provide a means to express and explore your emotions.

Developing your emotional intelligence

Training helps you better understand and manage your emotions and those of others. It involves recognizing and regulating emotions effectively.

If you struggle with severe emotional issues or mental health conditions, consider seeking guidance from a therapist or counselor. They can provide you with tools and techniques tailored to your specific needs.

Enhancing emotional responses naturally is a process that requires practice and patience.

But you may get bupkis occasionally!

If it works for one person, it may not work as effectively for another, so finding the strategies that resonate with you and fit your unique needs and circumstances is essential.

I used the strategy successfully in group counseling, but it fell flat on its keister in individual therapy for some reason.

My decision

In the 70s, I decided to quit drinking and lay off weed. My life began to improve. My early counseling endeavors recommended total abstinence and step work.

That was what was working for me. As my emotional clarity grew, I added other therapies and techniques to my practice.

At one point, family dynamics therapy was new. You know, the Dependent family member, the Enabler, the Hero child, the Scapegoat, the Lost child, the family Clown.

At another point, Neurolinguistic Programming was new. Now, itā€™s even used by lawyers during cross-examination, for Peteā€™s sake.

Photo taken by Authorā€™s computer

Sam D. Parker is a retired drug rehab counselor communicating the value of increased awareness of addiction, planting, nourishing, and cultivating ideas, images, and emotions about the effect of addictive conditions on the human mind.

Please read, clap for this story, and respond. Then, follow me and share the story. Please subscribe to my emails here on Medium https://medium.com/@sdparker so you can read all my articles.

Become a member and subscribe to Medium https://medium.com/ to read thousands of monthly articles!

--

--

Sam David ParkeršŸŒø
Gain Inspiration

I write about addiction to substances, behaviors, and thistles of the soul. Human rights are God given rights.