Platinum Quest: An Introduction

Introducing Game Loot’s newest feature

Logan Noble
Game Loot
3 min readJul 8, 2020

--

UPDATED: November 9th, 2021.

When I decided to kick off the publication that would eventually become Game Loot, I made a short list of ideas and features that I wanted to create. Some of them were article ideas, game focuses, and even running articles such as Retro Coin.

One of the biggest ideas (and the genesis for this publication) was something I decided to call Platinum Quest!

I love the achievement/trophy system that both Sony and Microsoft have adopted. For the first part of this generation, I was Team Xbox. My wife got me an Xbox One a year after it’s release as a gift, and I cherished that machine for a long time. After I started making a little money (and a little bit of good-natured ribbing from my buddies) I decided to pick up a PS4 on Black Friday in 2017

Since then, I haven’t looked back.

With the same friends I mentioned above, we started obsessing over Platinum Trophies (Sony’s superior answer to Xbox Achievements). We weren’t trophy hunters, and we certainly didn’t want the easy worth-nothing Platinums. With our rivalry came a love of discussing the games we’d completed. The positives. The negatives. The effort (or lack there of) to earn those shining beauties.

So with this introduction, I’d like to talk about Game Loot’s newest feature: Platinum Quest! I’ll be writing in-depth articles focusing on the games I’ve earned Platinum trophies for on my PS4. I expect this list to grow (my goal every year is to get 5 Platinums minimum) as time goes on. I’ll be releasing an article intermittently highlighting each entry of my Platinum Quest! I’ll be updating this post pretty frequently, so check back as I release new articles. Here is the list of all the Platinum trophies I’ve completed thus far:

2018:

This was the year that started it all. This is where my ‘five a goal’ year came from. I didn’t intend to set that number, but it seemed like the perfect amount. I’ll be starting with The Order: 1886 as the first game in this series, and I’ll finish out the 2018 coverage with the flawed Fallout 4.

  1. The Order: 1886
  2. God of War
  3. Assassin’s Creed Origins
  4. Marvel’s Spider-Man
  5. Fallout 4

2019:

My goal was not hit this year. Bummer. I played a lot of long games in this year, so I blame them for pushing me back. Assassins’ Creed Odyssey is one of my favorite Platinums, while The Sinking City is probably one of the messiest games I’ve ever earned that big trophy for.

6. Assassin’s Creed Odyssey

7. Days Gone

8. The Sinking City

9. Control

2020:

At the time of this introduction, I’m three in! I think the next two on this list will be The Last of Us Part II and Persona 5 Royal. I hope to get an extra one this year to make up for my failure in 2019. I will avenge you!

10. The Elder Scrolls IV: Skyrim Remastered

11. Far Cry: New Dawn

12. Call of Duty Modern Warfare

13. The Last of Us Part 2

14. Persona 5 Royal

15. Ghost of Tsushima

2021:

As of early November, I hit my 2021 Platinum goal! I did two excellent PS5 games, the messy Call of Cthulhu, a rift adventure with Ratchet & Clank, and then wrapped my 500 hours with Destiny 2 in style.

16. Astro’s Playroom

17. Spider-Man: Miles Morales

18. Call of Cthulhu

19. Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart

20. Destiny 2

Thank you for joining me on this Platinum Quest!

--

--

Logan Noble
Game Loot

Logan Noble (@logannobleauthor) is a freelance video game writer and horror fiction author. Editor of Game Loot. For more, check logannobleauthor.com.