Platinum Quest: God of War (2018)

The Quest to this Rage-God Platinum

Logan Noble
Game Loot
5 min readSep 15, 2020

--

Photo credit: SIE Santa Monica Studio, Sony Interactive Entertainment.

Welcome to Platinum Quest!

If you didn’t get a chance to read over the introduction post to this new feature, click here.

The Game:

God of War

Release date: April 20th, 2018

Date I earned the Platinum: May 9th, 2018

Photo credit: screenshot from my play through.

Not only is 2018’s God of War one of the first AAA titles I beat on my still fresh PS4, it continues to be one of the best games I’ve ever played on any system. This soft reboot/sequel to the older GoW games is a series level up in every major way. The early trailers for this looked mature and promising, though I couldn’t help but be a little hesitant. I wasn’t a fan of the previous titles, but I went in all the same. Call it intuition, call it genius.

I picked this up on launch day from my local Best Buy (RIP Best Buy Gamer’s Club Unlocked) because I love physical copies of games. I’m a rube, but at least I’m a consistent rube.

Unlike the last game we covered on Platinum Quest, there is SO much to talk about with God of War. I’ll start with the feature that really and truly stands out: The Leviathan Axe. Kratos’ beastly new weapon is a marvel. You can toss and swing it with impunity, varying your tactics with ease. It’s impeccably designed and used in every facet of the game. You solve puzzles, take out enemies from close and afar, and upgrade it with runes.

I also love the story and the way it’s told. The one-shot take seems like a gimmick; and it kind of is. But man does it LOOK GOOD. It sells the emotional beats and Kratos’ plight. It allows the action in cut-scenes to soar and blend into the excellent game-play seamlessly. I’m glad this is how this story was displayed. Some of the later surprises (Atreus!) and the climatic battle had my heart thumping in my poor little chest.

It wouldn’t be a modern AAA game with out some collectibles. And this game has a lot of them! A loot system of sorts, lore items, even ravens that you just have to wreck with your trusty axe. We also have some side quests as well, involving some combat challenges and some dragons that Kratos must free.

The Trophies:

Favorite Trophy

‘Chooser of the Slain’ — Gold Trophy

Very Rare 13.2%

Defeat the nine Valkyries

Photo credit: screenshot from my play through.

So much violence in God of War. But what do you expect!? It’s Kratos!

And as marvelous as the fights with The Stranger are, my favorite fights in the game are with the optional bosses known as the Valkyries. It’s the ultimate challenge and the greatest expression of your skills within the world created by SIE Santa Monica.

I love optional bosses in games, especially difficult ones. It’s a JRPG thing usually, but I’m glad it’s here as well. If I had a category for ‘Most Memorable’, this trophy would also take that. The way that the Valkyrie Queen grinds Kratos’ face into the dirt will stick with me for the rest of my days.

Worst Trophy

‘Allfather Blinded’ — Silver Trophy

Very Rate 6.9%

Kill all of Odin’s Ravens

Photo credit: screenshot from my play through.

I like all the trophies in God of War. I really do! They are very well organized and balanced in order to get a taste of all facets of the game.

But, if I had to choose a worst trophy (sigh) I’d have to choose ‘AllFather Blinded’. It’s just a LOT of ravens. If you miss one in an area, the backtracking can be a little tedious. The map gives you an idea of how many ravens you have left to get, but you’ll have to actually keep your eyes peeled to find them all. Which can be tough if you don’t use a guide.

However, I like the sound the ravens make when you blast them. And any excuse to throw the Leviathan Axe is a good one.

Coolest Trophy

‘Darkness and Fog’ — Gold Trophy

Very Rare 11.5%

Retrieve all treasure from the Workshop’s center

Photo credit: screenshot from my play through.

This may be controversial, but I love Nilflheim.

Some critics cited it as a weak point of a stellar game, but I don’t see it that way. Every time I moved to another realm throughout the game’s story, I could barely contain my excitement. Exploring God of War’s world is high on my favorite things of 2018.

The labyrinth that serves as this optional challenge is a steady crawl to complete. The Mist eats Kratos alive as you push him further in, all to the service of gathering the precious Mist Echoes. Slow, steady. It may seem a little video-gamey, but I think it’s a fascinating slice of flavor and a great change of pace from the main thrust of God of War’s standard action.

Climbing the Mountain

God of War is in my top ten favorite games of all time. It’s one of the best games in our current generation, and an absolute must-play.

This Platinum is about a Medium on the difficulty scale. It requires some back-tracking, combat challenges, and just a little bit of grinding. In the end, the upgrades and gear you earn for Kratos is a reward unto itself.

Thank you for joining me on this Platinum Quest! Find the rest of my posts here in my Introduction article. Next time I’ll be covering the Egyptian soft-reboot Assassin’s Creed: Origins!

--

--

Logan Noble
Game Loot

Logan Noble (@logannobleauthor) is a freelance video game writer and horror fiction author. Editor of Game Loot. For more, check logannobleauthor.com.