Balancing Act, Ergo the Ego

Consider the skunk

Jeffrey Field
Other Voices
1 min readMar 8, 2018

--

Consider the skunk.
Pussycat with a unique defense.
Lacking ripping claws and slashing teeth,
it’s only armor is the smell of burning tires.

My house smells of burning tires.
Slider, the westie, cornered a woodpussie
and her children in a drainage hole
30 feet from my house.
I bundled Slider into my house.
What else could I do?

The house smells of burning tires.

I washed Slider in white vinegar followed by puppy shampoo.

I borrowed my neighbor’s Fabreze.

I washed my clothes.
I washed myself.

None of the above is what I’m trying to get at.

Consider the title…

Balancing Act, Ergo the Ego

I’m walking a tightrope.
My balance precarious.
I ‘d held much greater hope,
much greater ambition, for this piece…
…now but a tame vagrant scribble,
for that is exactly what it is.

I truly meant to convey to you
a universal truth. Forgive me.

Let’s try this again, shall we?

--

--

Jeffrey Field
Other Voices

It ain't what you think. Former newsman, car salesman, teacher. Everything is Thou, if you so allow it. You can find some of it at https://youtu.be/w6RtVjMDHzE