“Women of Reddit, when did you first notice that men were looking at you in a sexual way? How old were you and how did it make you feel?”

Jess Brooks
Genders, and other gendered things
1 min readSep 12, 2015

“This is such a depressing thread. I came here hoping for tales of burgeoning, awkward middle school romance full of miscues and embarrassment…nope, the guys my age ruined it.”

Reply: “Wow, this is actually really interesting. I saw the title of the thread and KNEW it would be upsetting stories of harassment; it actually amazes me that men read it and assume it will be cute and uplifting. Really shows how divided our experiences are, don’t you think?”

Anytime any guy complains to me about ‘friendzoning’, I will send this to them so that they can be mildly traumatized.

Related: A collection of articles on street harassment

(credit to JL)

--

--

Jess Brooks
Genders, and other gendered things

A collection blog of all the things I am reading and thinking about; OR, my attempt to answer my internal FAQs.