Spill the Tea: My Homeschooling Adventure Diary✨

Nur Fauziyya
Generation Girl
Published in
4 min readJul 29, 2024

I’m not your typical student and let me tell you why❤️

Hi there! It’s Clarice Harijanto here, but you can call me Clarice! 🙌

I’m currently a Social Media Manager & Strategist at Merge Bistro, part of AKA Virtual. Basically, I’m the one making Merge Bistro’s feeds pop and keeping the brand strong.

This year, I’m leveling up my skills and diving into the tech world. I’ll be a student at Universitas Ciputra majoring in Informatics!

You know how some people say “work hard, play hard”? For me, it’s still more like “work hard, study hard”. But..I’m not your typical student. I’ve actually chosen to go down the homeschooling route, and let me tell you, it’s been quite the adventure!

It’s not always easy, but it’s definitely been worth it!

I’ve just graduated high school a few months back!

My current day-to-day activities on weekdays usually consist of giving my youngest sister piano lessons, working on tasks for my remote job, doing house chores, and spending time with my family!

Me and my family chose homeschooling because of a few considerations!💭

One of which is that homeschooling frees up more of my time that I was able to use to explore my various interests outside of academics.

Homeschooling has offered me a learning experience where I can study subjects independently after only a few hours of lecture each day. This allows me to explore a variety of subjects from quantum computing and scientific research, to digital art.

The hardest part of learning from home? Missing out on the usual school buzz~🐝

Being homeschooled can get pretty lonely sometimes.

So what I like to do is to find opportunities to meet new people outside of school! This can be done by researching organizations and programs online that relate to your interests.

I will never get weary of homeschooling by participating in online and offline activities or groups!🤗

Here are a few of my favorite moments from participating in extracurriculars!

Learn together with Apple Foundation

⋆˚✿˖° At GenDigital Academy, which aims to support Indonesia’s underprivileged communities through digital literacy instruction, I had the chance to serve as a mentor volunteer. If you are a student interested in volunteering as well, check out GenDigital Academy Instagram! Through volunteering at GenDigital, I got the opportunity to meet many amazing people and help others as well!

⋆˚✿˖° I had the opportunity to join Generation Girls Holiday Club several times, and it was definitely a huge stepping stone for me into finding out which subtopic in the tech field that I would like to focus on in the future. If you’d like to read more on what topics I learned, feel free to read this article: My Journey in Generation Girl.

Fun experience during Generation Girl’s Holiday Club! It’s such an honor doing Final Project with you guys!!🫶

⋆˚✿˖° One project that I’m particularly proud of was when I joined a summer STEM research mentorship program! There, I had the opportunity to be selected as a mentee at Talaria Summer Institute. In the summer program, I wrote a literature review paper under the guidance of a mentor experienced in geological engineering.

It was a new experience for me and I’m really grateful to be able to learn a lot during it! From scientific writing, using certain softwares & techniques to analyze the earth’s surface, to soft skills like public speaking!

I was not familiar with the field of geological engineering at all. So I learned a lot during the program!

If you’re confident in your decision to homeschool, go for it!😉

Here’s some tips to help you make your decision:

⋆˚✿˖° Discuss your considerations with your parents or legal guardian about the opportunities and challenges that you might encounter and what your plans are to ensure that homeschooling is right for you!

⋆˚✿˖° Remember to actively seek opportunities along the way! Thanks to the internet, the opportunities you can get are often not only limited to what is available near your location.

Thanks very much for taking the time to read our Community Writer story Clarice Harijanto. Truly inspiring, right! 😊💕

Interested in other Community stories? Read more our articles and gain insights here, okay!👇😉

--

--