The Trining, Chapter 8

Glnot Rhuether … and going to the other side

Jay Squires
Genius in a Bottle

--

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Summary of Chapter 7

In order to test the integrity of the impenetrable membrane that separates their world from the other, which is populated by fierce, ape-like creatures called Pomnots, Doctrex plays the clown, taunting a Pomnot on the other side. The Pomnot tries to attack him, the membrane stretching until it looks like it will burst before it sling-shoots him back among his fellow Pomnots. This seeming close call terrifies Doctrex, while Axtilla finds it all hilarious.

After the wounded pride and hilarity passes and they talk of other things. In a somber moment, Axtilla confesses that she has no choice but to go to the other side.

AAnd Now …

MY EYES LOCKED ON HERS. An increasingly familiar frustration rose in me. I couldn’t believe this was coming from the same mouth that told me earlier we had to hurry to get back to the cave before dark. And, wasn’t she driven by sheer panic when she made her attempted escape up the slippery hillside? I slowly shook my head, still scrutinizing her. “I can’t believe what I’m hearing, Axtilla.”

“Of course, you can’t, Doctrex. It all happened so fast, and I didn’t have the time to explain things to you in the proper order.”

“Now we have even less time … and like it or not, I’ve kind of…

--

--

Jay Squires
Genius in a Bottle

I AM an AUTHOR, salesman, optimist, dreamer: May the four always COHABIT & produce wondrous progeny. IN THE SWIRLING POOL OF LIFE, I'm an unflushable floater.