Coming Home

Self-acceptance is the first step to belonging.

Froyle Davies
George St Gallery

--

Coming Home, acrylic on canvas, 152 x 76cm, 2018 (photo by author)

We all have the desire to be known and to find where we belong. My journey in finding my way home to New Zealand is not just a tale about discovering family and place of origin, but it is about the discovery of self.

From my Inheritance series, I created this painting as a lavish expression of identity and self-worth.

The reference to the huia feather is a symbol of value, something precious. In Māori tradition, it was given to prominent or important people. I give this gift to myself, I choose to believe that I am valuable, important. I am here and my life matters.

Created with thick lashings of acrylic paint and iridescent inks in multiple layers of colours. The shape of the design represents the outstretched wings of a bird in flight. Finding my true identity has given me a new sense of self, and this strength has given me wings to fly.

When we know who we really are, we can then be who we were created to be. This strength will give us the courage to embrace life and overcome all the obstacles.

Self-acceptance is the first step to belonging.

Froyle Davies
I’ve been a visual artist for over 25 years, and now I tell my stories.
Thanks for reading — click here…

--

--

Froyle Davies
George St Gallery

Art, Creativity, and Inspiration. Stories to encourage you. Visual artist and hostel manager, living in New Zealand. www.froyleart.com