Health App weight tracking

I Don’t Feel Like 💩 Anymore: Keeping 20lbs off the Scale. My last 2017 Health Report

Wayne Sutton
getHealthy

--

The first article I wrote in 2017 was on January 2nd. The title was “I felt like 💩 in 2016 and What I’m Going To Do About It.” The post described how I was out of shape and it was time to make a significant life change. Looking back at 2017, I did.

I started off 2017 like many people with a goal of losing weight and getting in shape. My last weigh-in before my end of the year vacation, the scale says 183 lbs. That means I’m minus 22 pounds from weighing in at 205 in April 2017. In my previous post, I mentioned how I was preparing for my first half-marathon. The San Francisco Golden Gate-Half marathon in November. Unfortunately, I hurt my foot. I have plantar fasciitis. Still, plantar fasciitis didn’t stop me from continuing to work out. Except when I was traveling or co-hosting Tech Inclusion events. I am focused on eating healthy and staying fit. I must be.

40min bycicle workout

After being diagnosed with plantar fasciitis, my cardio consisted of indoor bicycle and elliptical workouts. I have three different custom made weights workout routines that I created after my trail with CrossFit. After I continued to feel pain in my foot, I stopped using the elliptical, and for the past month, my cardio has been just using the indoor bicycle.

Looking at the months where I lost the most weight, April after I cut out sugar — 9 pounds and August -4 pounds were I ran the most. I genuinely miss running and getting lean!

I still have long ways to go, not just for my weight goal but my physical appearance goals(IG fit). Looking back on 2017, I feel great about my progress. Feeling in shape does wonders for my emotional health just as much as it does for my physical health.

Next week I leave for London to host our last Tech Inclusion event of the year. Then Melinda Briana Epler and I are traveling the UK until after the holiday. I’m going to do my best not to put on too much weight while visiting the UK. I’m creating an indoor workout plan that consists of push-ups, air squats, V-leg ups, and planks. Plus our London Airbnb has a gym!

For 2018 I plan to gradually start running again late February or early March once my foot heals. I still have a goal of completing a half-marathon too. I’m also going to try another life goal as well. In 2017 I tried CrossFit and finished a 5k and a 10k race. In 2018 I’m going to give Martial Arts/Kung Fu a try.

Have a happy and healthy 2018!

#Keepmovingforward

Wayne Sutton is a serial entrepreneur and co-founder of Change Catalystand its Tech Inclusion programs. Change Catalyst is dedicated to exploring innovative solutions to diversity and inclusion in tech through the Tech Inclusion Conference, training and the Change Catalyst Startup Fellows program. Wayne is a New America CA Fellow.

About Change Catalyst:

Change Catalyst empowers diverse, inclusive and sustainable tech innovation — through events, consulting, research and training.

Our Tech Inclusion programs explore and develop innovative solutions to tech diversity and inclusion.

Our Startup Ecosystem programs help underrepresented entrepreneurs and investors to start, scale and fund worldchanging businesses.

Change Catalyst is a Certified B Corp, winning the “Best for the World”​ award for community impact in 2014 and “Best in the World”​ overall in 2015.

The Change Catalyst Team
Follow Us on Twitter | Like Us on Facebook | Subscribe to Our Email Newsletter| Listen to our Podcast

--

--

Wayne Sutton
getHealthy

Head of Community and Events at Convex.dev / 🏍 motorcycle Adv rider & photographer