30 Days in Thailand: Part Two

Bangkok to Phimai

M T Sutphin
Globetrotters
5 min readAug 29, 2022

--

View of Bangkok. Photo by author.

Welcome to Bangkok

It looks crazy doesn’t it? I can’t think of a better word to describe it. The population here is around 10.5 million, with traffic to prove it. There are a lot of sites to see within the city, but so far I’ve always flown in or out, and then made a quick exit. Some people really thrive on the big city life, but I personally prefer the peace and quiet of the countryside.

A few Western restaurants near the hotel. Photo by author.

There’s an affordable hotel near the airport I booked once before. It’s not a five-star establishment, but it is clean, as well as convenient to a few stores and a 7/11. I had a taxi take me there, fully aware that the driver overcharged by 200 baht. It’s equal to five or six American dollars. It’s not enough to squabble over when you’ve flown for over 20 hours.

I remember calling Jenjira around 1 pm, and telling her I was going to lay down for an hour. I woke up after 7 pm, and then fell asleep again until 4 in the morning. So much for adventures in Bangkok. My ride arrived at 10 am.

The Taxi Man

Though I do drive in Thailand, I prefer to use a taxi any time Bangkok is involved. This one guy has become a regular for me. With his salt and pepper hair, I had originally guessed him to be in his late 40’s. Later I discovered he was actually 36, with a wife and several children.

He speaks a little English, and I speak just enough Thai that we can figure each other out — most of the time anyway. I often wonder, with all of his tailgating, if I wouldn’t be better off driving myself. But you know, I figure if he’s survived this long, chances are I’ll be okay. But hey, I’m in the taxi now and I bet I’ll make it alive. Goodbye Bangkok!

Overloaded truck near Pak Chong. The roads are always an adventure in Thailand. Photo by author.

This is Phimai Thailand

I arrived late in the afternoon in Phimai. It’s in the southern region of Isaan, within the Province of Nackon Ratschasima. (You can see my essay on Phimai at https://medium.com/globetrotters/exploring-phimai-thailand-8d12f9e3232c )

Quaint little shops of Phimai Thailand. Photo by author.

Though I had insisted on getting a hotel, Jen’s parents wanted me to stay at their house. It’s an honor, though it comes with some drawbacks. There are a few relatives, along with some neighbors that I’m trying to avoid for now, for her sake.

A little cultural lesson

You would think after age 40, she wouldn’t have to worry about what people think. I’ve learned, though, that women are highly scrutinized here, especially in small villages like this. At times I feel sorry for them. On the other hand, if you think Thai women are submissive, forget it. Daughters normally inherit the land and house. Women often make critical decisions in the family, and mothers are held in the highest regard.

The family is more closely knit, and children are expected to take care of elderly parents. Many times this will involve a son who provides financial assistance, and a daughter who serves as the caregiver. Though much of this has been slowly changing n Thailand, much the same as in the States, the large cities are more liberal-minded.

Which side do I drive on?

You have to get accustomed to driving on the opposite side of the road here. Driving around a small southern village is a lot different than the big city. The streets are narrow and motorbikes are everywhere, but overall it’s manageable. You just have to learn to change gears with your left hand, and have the steering wheel on the right.

It’s like driving in the UK. Photo by author.

Lost and Found

After arriving at the local Lotus supermarket, Jen decided to visit the pharmacy. It took so long that I grew bored and wandered off. When I returned she had left, and I couldn’t find her. I looked around for a while until I suddenly felt worried and called her. When I found her in the food court, she told me I shouldn’t have waited for her. I suggested a leash next time so I can’t get away. I probably shouldn’t give her ideas.

A spicy dish from the local Lotus food court. Photo by author.

The Part I Enjoy

We went home to enjoy a peaceful evening, including some time wandering around the farm and picking fresh papaya, chili peppers, and coconut. On days like this, I can easily see myself living here permanently. The idea presents its share of challenges, but things worth having are seldom without cost, work, and sacrifice.

The farm. Photo by author.

I hope my readers enjoy some of the more in-depth explanations of Thai culture. In part three, I’ll take you on a tour of the local market, and see if you recognize any of the food for sale there. I might even try the freshly grilled bamboo worms and have pictures to prove it.

--

--

M T Sutphin
Globetrotters

I’m an expat living in Thailand; a history and nature buff with degrees in History and Psychology.