Artist On The Road: Calculated Steve Is The Pilot Of The Month

Temi Oyetayo
gokadanigeria
Published in
3 min readDec 3, 2020
Steve

We are happy and excited to introduce our November’s pilot of the month: Calculated Steve. Born and raised in the state of Benue, he graduated with a degree in Theatre Arts from Benue State University. A hardworking man who prides himself in doing a lot of research before he makes any move, Steve’s background as a theatre art graduate allows him to be flexible and learn on the job ensuring every client is well attended to and deliveries are completed on time.

Steve’s curiosity, creativity, and attention to detail help him in the delivery process. He uses the technological resources available in our app to always guarantee the best route while keeping an eye on what happens on the streets.

We sat down with Steve to know how he plans on spending the holidays. Read in full and know more about Steve.

Q: Tell us about yourself.

A: My name is Steve from Benue state, I am a graduate of Benue State University.

Q: What did you study?

A: I studied Theatre Arts and graduated as a Grammatical Critic and Theatre Historian in 2018.

Q: From Theatre Arts to being a GPilot. How did that come about?

A: As theatre artists, we are influencers and wherever we go, we make ourselves known. We also fit in no matter where we find ourselves. When I did my research on other logistic companies, I discovered that Gokada was higher than any other one so I decided to join last year and it has honestly been a smooth ride.

Q: How has your experience in Theatre Arts helped you on your journey as a pilot?

A: It has helped me in being versatile. We practice lines a lot in school and this helped me in learning new routes and taking shortcuts. I have also been able to fit in well with my peers.

Q: It’s been how long since you joined our team? And how has Gokada impacted your life?

A: I joined in 2019. Gokada has impacted me positively, I feel like a part of a family and I love the fact that they allow you to be independent.

Q: What does being the Pilot of the Month mean to you?

A: I feel very excited and I give glory to Almighty God, I never expected it. I was just doing the work in a way that I am supposed to do it and I got rewarded.

Q: Do you enjoy being a GPilot?

A: Very well, because Gokada is a company that gives a response when you need their assistance. Whether on the road or if you have any personal challenge, I am 100 percent sure that they will respond.

Q: How do your family members feel about your riding?

A: At first they were concerned because of the expressway but I told them I wasn’t joining a careless company. I went through several tests and assessments before they onboarded me.

Q: What plans do you have this holiday?

A: I will take my time to chill out with my friends and family and that’s only on the two holidays. 25th and 26th. Chill out with my nieces and my nephew. They have demanded my presence and I would like to use those days to be with them so they can feel my presence.

Q: Do you plan to work every other day?

A: Definitely

With the arrival of our on-demand food delivery platform- GShop and the Gokada Business platform, we are increasing the size of our fleet, so we can generate more job opportunities and also deliver more easily to our customers. If you want to be your own boss like Steve, apply here.

In Case you missed our last interview with the GPilot for the month of October- Linus. Read here

--

--