Do I Need Grief Support From a Counsellor?

Jacqueline Steudler
Good Grief
Published in
3 min readApr 16, 2018
You can follow Jacqueline Steudler’s art on Instagram

Have you asked yourself that question or has someone pointed it out to you?

Not everyone that is grieving needs art therapy.

When my mother died. I found support by talking to my friends, by creating rituals, by painting, and journaling. It wasn’t an easy path and it took me quite a while to find my footing again.

The creative steps where the most healing ones.

After all I believe in the healing power of the arts.

You too can find a way to grieve and find a new outlook on life after a loss.

You don’t need counselling to find your own healing path.

If you feel your friends or family don’t understand your feelings and what you are going through, perhaps a counsellor might be helpful at one point.

It is normal to feel disconnected and overwhelmed for a while.

We all grieve in our own way and have our own time line.

Listening is the most important skill.

Sometimes I get a call from a woman that has lost a loved one two weeks ago.

I listen to her and ask questions. I give her a safe space where she can talk about what has happened, where she was when she got the news. Sharing those details helps already.

There is often a lot of pain hidden in the little details.

Then we talk about her support system.

Who is there for her that she can count on?

What is it she needs most at the moment? And where can she get it?

Does she has rituals already in place like journaling that could help her express her feelings?

Sometimes I make suggestions only to find out that she is already doing it. This it the moment when I tell her that she is has started her healing path. I always offer that she can get in touch with me again if she feels overwhelmed. But that she doesn’t need me to help her.

Often I check in with her after about three months to see if she is doing OK.

You are capable!

Many of us are capable to heal and cope with a loss by ourselves. And the help of friends and family.

During our lifetime we have built resilience and coping mechanism that help us get through tough times.

Humour, taking long walks, writing, art making might be your personal tools that you can access and help you heal.

What are your tools?

Said all that some of us get caught up in a spiral of despair and longing for the loved one and we can’t seem to find a way out by ourselves.

Friends are called back to their own lives or are immersed in their own pain and aren’t able to help anymore.

This might be the time to seek help from a counsellor or art therapist.

The free call I talked about above is always available to anyone. I am happy to listen and help.

Thank you for reading! If this resonated with you in any way, please leave me a comment to let me know. I do my best to respond to every one.

Grief can be a challenging and overwhelming experience, but you don’t have to face it alone. Discover the support and guidance you need with these three gentle resources. Take the first step towards healing; click now and nurture your soul.

Originally published at www.healingforgrievinghearts.com.

--

--

Jacqueline Steudler
Good Grief

Navigating your grief isn’t easy. Healing happens one image at a time. Art Therapist and Creative Grief Coach. healingforgrievinghearts.com