See what People have created with Gravit Designer #2

Christian Krammer
Gravit Designer
Published in
8 min readOct 5, 2017

--

Even in the short time I’m with Gravit Designer now, I was amazed by the bandwidth of designs our users have created. Some use it to create UI designs, others to create logos, and a whole lot employ our app to draw illustrations.

Like in the last iteration, I’d like to present a selection of works, that were created by some fine folks with Gravit Designer. Sit back, relax and get yourself inspired. Be sure to check out part 3 and part 4, too.

Trub de Vulg

Links: Twitter

I used to be a full-time illustrator before, but now I am a graphic designer for a french sports magazine.

I came across Gravit Designer as I was looking for a vector graphic software that would run on a Chromebook. I have to say that I was very surprised by the quality of the it. All menus are well thought out and each time I was “blocked”, having not found the tool I was used to, I found another way to do the job with new ingenious tools in a minute.

Project description: Hadoken

I started with a quick rough on paper:

I quickly redrew it in Gravit Designer with the Freehand tool.

Then I made a clean drawing on another layer.

Finally, I added some colors and, most importantly, lights and shadows to bring life to the picture.

I tried the blur effects on the blue fireball to add some movement. In the end, from paper to the finished drawing, it only took me an hour.

What I like in Gravit Designer

I like the simplicity of the application. All is well thought out to help you forget the software. You can use your energy for creating, instead of searching how to do things. Gravit Designer really simplifies the process.

Milos Andjelkovic

Links: Website | Twitter

I am a UI designer from Serbia. My interest in this field started as a hobby, many years ago, when Macromedia Fireworks was considered the best tool for web designers. However, when Adobe decided to kill this great app, I started looking for a decent alternative. That’s how I came across Gravit Designer.

Project description

If you look at the app icon below, you will see that it has a modern and minimalist appearance. It symbolizes the process of unit conversion, hence the letter ‘C’ with its arrow-like ends. I tried to make the UI as usable as possible, even for less experienced users. That’s the reason why this app doesn’t have too many details. It is practical and every operation can be completed in a few steps.

The creation process was traditional, I would say. The first thing I always do is to collect information, then I make several wireframes based on that data and at the end of the process I use Gravit Designer in order to visualize the collected insights.

What I like about Gravit

Gravit Designer is as functional as good ol’ Fireworks, plus it can save files in the SVG format. Its interface is so usable, that even someone with no experience can start designing with it in a few minutes. By the way, it works on Linux, Windows and Mac. With all the upcoming improvements, I think that Gravit Designer has a good chances to become the best app for UI design.

Adeyemi Joseph Adedapo

Links: Dribbble | Twitter | Facebook

I am a UI Designer based in Lagos, Nigeria. I have always been interested in design — nice typography, balanced layout and excellent color schemes. I started out as a graphic designer doing brand design and print jobs. My choice of UI design was influenced by my degree in Computer Science and skills in web and app development. I’m working full-time for Slimtrader, crafting user interfaces and smooth user experience for enterprise travel web and mobile applications. I take on freelance projects to develop my skills and I also do voluntary teaching for unemployed youths interested in design.

Sample Projects

Featured below are some of my designs, a Grocery Shop mobile app and an event landing page — all these were designed during some of the training sessions I hold using Gravit Designer. Others are an e-commerce product slide and a progressive web application design for a hotel booking site. You can download source files from here.

Project description of the Hotel Booking Progressive Web

The hotel booking progressive web app (PWA, bottom-right above) was designed as a browser-based app that enable users book and view hotels — with minimal functionality when device is offline. Some factors considered in the design include easy of use, increased engagement and conversion.

Wireframes were first drawn and then made into a prototype before the focus on the visual design of all elements and screens. These steps were based on prior user research.

Why Gravit Designer?

I came across Gravit Designer when I was looking for different apps that could serve as alternatives to Sketch. The goal was to train a couple of youths who were interested in learning user interface design. Most of them did not have access to high-end laptops and extensive internet. I needed an intuitive and full-featured vector design app, that would require minimal system power, run on different operating systems, work offline and be free of charge. Gravit Designer ticked all the boxes and is completely FREE!

Denny Vieweg

Links: Website | Twitter | Facebook

I’m a senior web developer working for the medium sized internet agency elio GmbH in Germany. I usually create front end designs and apps for online stores and websites related to enterprise business. I also supervise co-workers and trainees, but my passion and hobby lies in game development and art.

Project description: Incremental Game

How everything started: While my job consumes a lot of my time, I love to play some mini games which are entertaining, but don’t force you to progress. These games are called clicker or idle games and it’s mostly about micromanagement and the positive feeling of increasing numbers. I always wanted to create a similar game, but with my own concepts and features. The core gameplay is quite simple, but can become very addicting.

The coding stuff for a prototype was done quite fast, but I wasn’t sure on how to create the interface. I was looking for an alternative to the tools I usually work with and found Gravit Designer. I already tried some other designing software but fell in love at first sight.

Workflow: I start with simple shapes and colors (2–3 most of the time) and change the elements to the position and form I think they will fit. Even if it’s a game, I really like to create mockups which represent a simple form of what I had in mind. Gravit Designer is especially good for fast layouts, which I like to sketch out. The Pages are helping to organize different viewports for the game. So I can easily create a desktop and mobile layout without ever leaving my document.

After this I give it more color and pimp it with icons, content and placeholder information. If I’m pleased with the design elements, I import those to the game and fix stuff here and there.

What I love about working in Gravit Designer

The UI is very easy to understand and to use. For starters it is simple, but once you have enough experience you can create and maintain complex projects. The workflow allows me to reproduce elements fast and scaleable. It feels like a good combination of Adobe Photoshop, Fireworks and Illustrator in a modern way. Normally, I have to look up some tutorials and stuff to understand the tool I’m working with, but Gravit Designer is very self-explaining to use.

What I really like as a developer is the modularity — and Gravit Designer does that fantastically.

You can create a style and use it as a preset for other elements, which saves a lot of copy and paste.

I already recommended Gravit Designer inside the company I’m working for and don’t want to miss it anymore.

More to come

There are countless other designers out there, who create wonderful projects each day with Gravit Designer. Here’s a short overview:

Now, your turn

Time to show off: What have you created in Gravit Designer recently? Please share your work in the comments, we’d love to see more creations, done with probably the most versatile and free design app out there. Yep, talking about Gravit Designer. 😎

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Forum

--

--

Christian Krammer
Gravit Designer

Product manager of Gravit Designer. A cross-platform design tool for the 21st century empowering everyone to design. https://designer.io