See what People have created with Gravit Designer #3

Christian Krammer
Gravit Designer
Published in
12 min readDec 27, 2017

Gravit Designer is used by thousands of designers each day to create gorgeous projects. That’s why we love to feature a digest regularly to give a brief overview of the possibilities there are in our application. This time, we’re proud to have the project from probably our youngest user, who is only ten years old (Boptilop). We see that as a proof how easy it is to get started in Gravit Designer.

Please also have a look at our previous three iterations in this series for even more inspiration.

Vojislav Bajakic

Links: Website | Instagram| Twitter | Facebook

My name is Vojislav Bajakic aka ch3d4, and I’m a freelance graphic/web designer and illustrator from Novi Sad, Serbia. I’ve been working in the industry (both for companies and as a freelancer) for more than 15 years, nowadays I’m a full-time freelancer.

As a Linux user, I kinda wanted to explore other graphic software that runs on Linux natively. After a quick search, I found Gravit Designer and downloaded AppImage. Oh boy, was I amazed … it was like Inkscape and Illustrator had a baby and the godmother was Blender (with the contextual menus). It turns out it is a great piece of software that’s great for both UI design and vector design. The experience was that good that I HAD to integrate it my daily workflow.

Project description: Krele (loosely translated as Doofus)

Usually, I start with reference images and/or sketch … but this time it was not needed, ‘cuz this character was too familiar to me. I started drawing him when I was in elementary/primary school. He’s just an average Joe with a “Bro” vibe.

For this project, I wanted to show how he would react to an extraordinary situation, where a worm (an animal that usually doesn’t speak) tells him off. There are two focal point here: The worm in the apple that speaks (as a subject of a storytelling) and Krele’s facial expression (recognizable facial reaction to a surreal situation).

First, I created a recognizable silhouette for a subject (Pen tool).

Then I added, what I call spaghetti arms, for a additional comic vibe (best done with the Freehand tool with a stroke) and his right hand.

After that I added the worm and the apple (storytelling subject) — with the Pen tool.

Now it was time to create the facial expression for Krele.

For the face features and the head I added shadows and highlights so that this part of the illustration is more complex and the viewer’s eye is immediately drawn to it — hence creating a first focal point.

Next, I added a text bubble with a nice comic font (”Bangers” from Google Fonts), thus creating a second focal point.

At last, it’s time for some background … in this case I took an easy way out, I used a plain and simple gradient. But this time it kinda makes sense, ‘cuz it makes the main focal points pop.

Tip: A best practice for the final design is to convert lines with strokes to vector paths (Modify > Path > Vectorize Border) and all text layers to paths (Modify > Path > Convert to Path).

Why Gravit Designer?

Gravit Designer is an awesome cross-platform vector software and hands-down the best UI design app for Linux. Although it’s not open source, it’s a very much community-driven software, where developers actually listen to the users about their needs to improve this already brilliant app.

Having Gravit Designer on Linux, this OS is now more than ever a viable solution for graphic designers. It’s a professional grade design software, especially as it’s FREE to use.

Muhammad Iqbal

Links: Instagram| Facebook

I am a student in a vocational school in my city. Sure, I like to design anything if it’s interesting. However, sometimes the desire to design must fade due to expensive software. Fortunately, I found Gravit designer. It did not take me long to learn and master the software, because the UI is easy to understand and similar to software I’ve used before.

Project description: The Meeting

The project is about two deers that had a meeting at the peak of sunset.

Create the cliff and add a gradient to make it more realistic. Create the background using the Rectangle tool and add another gradient to it.

Create the Sun with the Ellipse tool, add gradient yet, and a Outer Glow effect.

Create the deer (You can make it using the Pen tool, with an image from a real deer as a reference, or download the vector from any graphic resource website.) To create the shadow, copy the deer, flip it vertically and add gradient, that you change to the Soft Light blending mode. Also add a Bend effect.

Now, the clouds. Create them using the Pen tool.

Add a gradient to the clouds and change it the Soft light blending. Add a Blur effect to make them look more like real clouds.

In the end, add some more clouds in the back of the peaks and the sun by copying the first clouds. Create thetitle “The Meeting” using Blue Fires Sample font. It is the perfect font for things related to “fantasy.” To finish, add an Outer glow effect to the text.

Done!

What I like about working in Gravit Designer

One Word : FREE.

Yup. Because I don’t have enough money to buy other software. Besides, Gravit Designer is really fun to use and user-friendly, especially for a beginner like me.

And of course, Gravit Designer is AMAZING, just like you, yeah you!

John Lindley R. Mamon

Links: Website | Instagram| Twitter | Facebook

I’m 24 years old, live on the Philippines and I’m currently working at Golden Cronica Publishing, Inc. as a Layout Artist/Illustrator. There, I’m making books for private schools. I working there since November 2015.

Project description: Mr. And Mrs. Harrison

When I watched the animated movie “The Son of Bigfoot,” I really loved the story and their adventures. Also, I enjoyed those characters especially the Harrison Family. So, I started to draw them in my sketchbook for a week until I finished the latest fanart sketch and I love how it turned out.

On the next day, I decided to redraw in a digital form with vectors. I employed Gravit Designer because it’s easy to use and I always I enjoy to use the Pen tool whenever I draw vectors.

First, I organized the layers. I grouped them for the line art, the colors of the characters and the background. After I created the line art, I started to fill it with colors. To fill them, I used the Pen tool again. I traced each area and then rearranged it. For the cell shading it was the same as for the fill colors. I used the Pen tool and then I clipped them to the respective areas/layers. After I finished coloring them, I added a simple pink background with pink bubbles and some effects, and it was done!

I really love the result of my work! I’ve also made a wallpaper version for desktop, tablet, ipad, etc. The project took me about four days to finish since I have a day job and my only free time is at night. Well, that’s all! For me, this is the biggest work I’ve ever done in vector.

Why I love Gravit Designer

For me it’s the best vector app and a fantastic alternative to Illustrator. Gravit Designer is very light to install, has some great features and a very nice user interface. The thing I love most, though, is the Pen tool! For the future, I hope to see more even more features and some improvements.

Boptilop

Before I start, I must say that my process might not be the best, not too long ago I used to do this kind of thing in Microsoft Word (plus I’m 10). With that out of the way, here’s how I made it:

Project description: A planet in space

First I pictured what my drawing would look like in my head. Then, I opened Gravit, and chose the color I wanted the background to be, I chose #4F5DFF because I thought it would look good with the green I was going to be using for my little planet. But I didn’t have a little planet! So I made a little planet.

Then I made it GLOW. For that I used the smart duplicate feature in Gravit. I duplicated my little planet, made it bigger, changed the color to #41FFD3, lowered the opacity to 45%, and centered it. Then I duplicated it again, and again, and I got this.

After that, I thought I could add some white stuff to make it look even cooler, so I did, I used the pen tool, clicked a few times (I’m new to this pen thing) and I managed to get it to work. I clipped my white stuff to my little planet, and I was good to go!

To finish the project, I created dozens of stars in the background, so that my planet isn’t so lonely in the vast, never-ending universe.

What I love about Gravit

Before I knew about Gravit Designer, I used to make my little illustrations in Microsoft Word, just playing around with shapes, somehow making something looking reasonably good. I was searching for something better, and after lots of googling I found Gravit Designer. It’s an amazing tool, with features such as the Pen and the Bezigon tool. And after playing around a bit, I started making stuff like this. I love that Gravit is free and that it’s cross-platform, which makes it an amazing tool for creating the little things I once dreamed up in Microsoft Word. I have told my computer science teacher about Gravit Designer, and she has now put a link to it in our school’s website.

Just a glimpse …

That’s not all yet. People have created countless more designs recently. Beware, there’s a boatload of images ahead …

Do you want to be a part of our next instalment in this series? Shoot us an email or create a comment. See you!

--

--

Christian Krammer
Gravit Designer

Product manager of Gravit Designer. A cross-platform design tool for the 21st century empowering everyone to design. https://designer.io