Creepy Haiku Challenge

Gwen Saoirse
Haiku Hub
Published in
2 min readOct 7, 2019
Photo by Kym MacKinnon on Unsplash

Through the moonlit glass
The silhouette of a beast
I can’t even scream

Image by Monsterkoi from Pixabay

The following is to the tune of My Favorite Things (see video link below):

Cobwebs and coffins and mad English boffins
Poisons and potions and broomsticks in motion
Demon possession and medieval kings
These are a few of the creepiest things

Image source: Unsolved Mysteries in the World

Empty ship galleys and misty dark alleys
Zombies and mummies and candy-wrecked tummies
Fog covered marshes and kelpies that sing
These are a few of the creepiest things

Image source Quora

Goths in black dresses with purple-dyed tresses
Bonfire ashes on kohl-smudged eyelashes
Crosses and gravestones and occult playthings
These are a few of the creepiest things

Image source

When the bat bites
When the bug clings
When I’m feeling sad
I can’t help but remember the creepiest things
And then I feel just so terribly bad

Light the black candles and break out the ouija board. Summon your creative spirits and slide your creepiest, crawliest, chillbumpiest seventeen syllable locution over to the Haiku Hub “Haiku This: Creepy” prompt.

Entries will be judged.
Grieg: In the Hall of the Mountain King
The number of words is important. Pale white ghost baby is watching.

--

--

Gwen Saoirse
Haiku Hub

Saoirse is pronounced "seer sha" - Gaelic for freedom. I have tasted it and I thirst for it. As a transgender woman, I want my LGBTQ+ community to achieve it.