Psychedelics Teach Me the Joy and Power of Restraint

Meet the committee in my head who show me the way

Mina Samuels
Happy Brain Club

--

FLY-D on unsplash

I went on another sacred medicine journey in early May (here’s my piece about my previous two journeys). This time I voyaged in a hybrid vessel of MDMA and psilocybin, a new and powerfully interesting spaceship for my experience, a combination of psychological and psychedelic. Three messages stood out in the journey:

1. The path that I’m on, while not yet clear or fixed, is the right one.

2. My connection to the universe is real and it is an exchange of energy. The universe offers me a battery recharging station when I am low (not just to me, to everyone who plugs in, of course). And I can offer myself as a recharging station, when I am abundant.

3. And last, but not least–Restraint. The universe special delivered just that word. Landing it at the end. Like a lead balloon after all the big huge permission and connection.

The word restraint arrived how they say (whoever they is or are — the collective wisdom?) … how they say that the last thing someone says, as you are leaving each other’s company, is the most important. Knowing that we are about to part fortifies our courage to say one more, true thing, safe in the knowledge that we will not need to make ourselves more…

--

--

Mina Samuels
Happy Brain Club

Writer. Performer. Citizen. Traveler. Enthusiast. Author of Run Like a Girl 365 Days A Year and other books. www.minasamuels.com