Surviving Colorectal Cancer, Part 30

Mikel K Miller
Health and  Science
Published in
4 min read5 hours ago

--

Photo by Hans Isaacson on Unsplash

It’s almost time for my first trip back to the USA to see my three sons and their families after five years. It is the #2 item on my cancer survivor bucket list that my wife and I started when I began chemotherapy in June of 2022.

I can hardly wait to see my newest grandson, whom I’ve never met because of Covid-19 and my cancer. I’m looking forward to snuggling up on the sofa with him and his older sister and reading a book together.

I’m also looking forward to playing some video games during the week with my two oldest grandsons, one in high school and the other in college. I don’t know if the college man will remember when he was seven or eight and beat me badly in a video game, and then made me laugh by saying: “Granddad, your thumbs are too slow.” I cherish that memory.

Living in Mexico for 16 years after retirement and divorce, I’ve missed many years of interacting frequently with my sons and their families. A short trip once or twice a year is no substitute for living close enough to have strong family ties with children and grandchildren. Zoom sessions give me a glimpse of what they’re doing, but it’s not enough.

Will my oldest grandsons want to hang out with me and play some video games and maybe shoot some pool in the family room?

Will they be willing to sit down and talk with me about school and other activities? Or will I be an intruder disrupting their days and nights with their friends?

Aside from being nervous about interacting with them, I also have anxieties about my ability to cope with flying more than 2,000 miles and changing planes once. It will require 12 hours of travel, more or less.

The trip from Guadalajara, Mexico, to Maryland is almost eight hours of total flight time. Plus an hour to get to the airport, waiting two hours before the departing flight, and an hour’s drive after arrival to get to my son’s house.

I’m fatigued every day and need afternoon naps, but I’m determined to push my 80-year-old body to make my upcoming trip successfully. I may not be able to lift my small carry-on bag into the overhead bin but surely someone younger will help with that task.

Our upgraded seats will be comfortable, and the price includes free drinks. Maybe I’ll have a little bottle of champagne to celebrate the trip. Still, that’s a very long trip for me, even with champagne, wheelchair assistance in the airports from portal to portal, and my wife Maria by my side.

“Don’t worry,” she says to me every time I mention anxieties about the trip. “I’ll be with you all the way.”

The travel experiences of two colorectal cancer survivors I follow on Medium inspire me.

Cindy Coe completed a 79-day cross-country USA vacation trip in a camper last year. She posted several trip updates about how travel tests her stamina and endurance. One of her recent posts was about an extensive hike in Arizona this year in a location that had no restrooms and did not allow her to take her “go bag” to handle potential fecal incontinence.

Jan Otto took a four-week cruise to many countries last year and is traveling for four months this year in Europe. He’s also posting updates about his European adventures, including hiking in the Alps.

I envy both of them because they do not let colorectal cancer stop them from traveling and attempting strenuous activities. Both of them are probably 20 years younger than I am, maybe more, judging from their photos. Age matters in recovering from colorectal cancer.

My doctors think I’m okay to travel. My leg strength and cardiovascular stamina are improving due to daily exercise, my blood pressure is fine, and my oxygen level is 95 or above every day.

Importantly, my colon is functioning normally with almost no fecal incontinence. The long day of air travel each way will be challenging if I need to change my diaper while on a plane but I will have my backpack “go bag” and be prepared to cope.

And I know the week with my sons and their families will resolve my nervousness and bring us closer together. Five years is a long time to be away from them.

In June of 2022, at age 78, I was diagnosed with Stage IIIc colorectal cancer. After five months of aggressive chemotherapy and radiation, I had successful surgery in January of 2023 to remove the tumor followed by successful surgery in May to reverse my colostomy.

Surviving advanced-stage colorectal cancer was like starting a new life. My oncologist and my wife both urged me to write about my experience as a catharsis and to encourage people to have colon cancer screenings. I began journaling every day, and to celebrate my 80th birthday in October of 2023 I began posting articles almost every week on Medium.

I hope my articles will motivate people to have thorough colon cancer screening starting in their 40s and continuing past 75 and also help other colorectal cancer patients deal with everyday life while trying to survive five years or more.

If you like the articles, clap a few times, leave comments, and share them with people you care about. Thanks!

--

--

Mikel K Miller
Health and  Science

Writer, cancer survivor, coffee aficionado, former journalist. No AI.