“Single” Isn’t A Bad Word, It’s A Fulfilling Lifestyle

The multi-dimensional reality of going at it alone.

Camille Prairie
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Jorik Kleen on Unsplash

I wrote this spicy little number, “After 23 Years, I’m Committed To Being Single” a few days ago in the wake of a week of being treated not ideally. Lest we revisit the past, I’ll sum it up for you: for something I wrote when I was angry, I didn’t think it was my worst piece- though the subtitle was a tad dramatic.

I wouldn’t submit it to a literary magazine, but I used my writing to serve a purpose: as I wrote, I could imagine the icky feelings oozing out through my fingers.

Writing is cathartic for me, and as much as I love my dedicated readers-and I do try my best to produce writing you can stomach-I write first and foremost for myself.

I’ve since been informed I came across as angrily single, which I thought was an informative perception. A reader also said I cam across as someone that considered herself “above average” and “knowledgeable”.

That’s not the worst criticism I’ve ever received, and I would say that’s just how I write. It’s my tone of voice, my groove, my writing style.

I didn’t and don’t claim to be knowledgeable about much but what I studied in school, so physiology and cell biology, etc.-who needs it?- but I do have a lot…

--

--

Camille Prairie
Hello, Love

NC-based freelance-writer and semi-functional 25 year old navigating what it means to be an adult. Find me at https://camilleprairie.co