#MentalHealthAwarenessWeek: Meet Caitlin Granville

London-based Designer Caitlin Granville gives her thoughts on Mental Health Awareness

Circular
Circular
3 min readMay 10, 2017

--

This week is Mental Health Awareness Week and at Circular we are all for encouraging discussion of Mental Health. Raising awareness is vital, and it’s necessary to do so in a safe way.

D Double E illustration by Caitlin Granville

Who are you?

My name is Caitlin Granville, I’m 20 years old. I am a customer service supervisor but dabble in design and media. I am currently trying to use my social media outlets to create awareness for mental health.

Why the drive to raise awareness?

Recently I’ve had many friends/family/random social media users come to me regarding their mental illness, because I have always been so open with mine and I want them to know they’re not alone. Unfortunately, somebody I knew took their own life recently because they felt couldn’t talk to anyone about their mental illness, I want to promote that we are never alone and no one should suffer in silence.

Is creation an effective form of stress relief? If not, what are your go-to activities to relieve stress?

Completely, some of the most famous artists in the world struggled with mental health issues and used creation as a way to release emotions. Personally I can only design when I’m in a good mood, I get too frustrated trying to create otherwise. I have always struggled with finding a way to relieve stress but recently I’ve realised going to the gym helps a lot, gets your endorphins running. My second go to stress reliever is going for a drive listening to mellow music.

Why do you think so many stay silent about Mental Health Problems?

Scared of judgement or not being understood. I think men stay silent about MH problems because they feel emasculated.

How do you think we can go about de-stigmatising Mental Health?

I believe the main struggle is with men. Stop using phrases that suggest men shouldn’t feel the way they do with a mental illness, “Man up” etc. More awareness that it is ok to share how you’re feeling.

What is next for you and your work?

I am yet to decide where I want to go with creating awareness for mental health, I just know I am passionate for helping others get through their struggles.

You can keep up with what Caitlin is doing on her Twitter, and you can see her latest YouTube video — detailing experiences with Depersonalisation — below:

Interested in contributing or signing up for updates? ⛵️

--

--

Circular
Circular

We’re connecting creatives. Be a part of our circle and sign up via the link below: http://circularhq.com/