TONI TALKS ‌| FIND YOURSELF | BE THAT

Fly Your Freak Flag

Pushback accompanies progress because detractors dog doers

Toni The Talker
Help Is Here

--

Me reimagined in the Lensa App set in a Canva Pro frame

Be you. Trust that it takes superhuman stores of confidence to stand out from the crowd. Those who dare try to do anything different will always attract haters.

Though acting on authentic impulses should be easy, people who don’t like you make it a complex task. When you lead with the thing that makes you different, prepare to be mislabeled.

It happens to every square peg that adamantly refuses to be shoved into a round hole. Don’t waste time trying to be like everyone else. Like Charles Addams brilliantly observed. “Normal is an illusion. What’s normal for the spider is chaos for the fly?”

Dr. Seuss said it best. “Why fit in, when you were born to stand out.”

This week was challenging. Reemergence in the real world helped me realize the value of virtual connection. Riddle me this. Could sitting behind a screen for the past couple of years have turned me into an Introvert?

Or is that really who I am? Being disconnected from the real world in retirement taught me that I prefer my own company. How could I have missed that?

From the time I was born. I’ve been called an extreme extrovert. Nature or nurture? Is extroversion in my nature? Or was I nurtured to believe that it was my truth? Was I mislabeled? Could I just be a happy Introvert?

Leaning into the Lifestyle… ages 6–7–8–9 in Canva Pro.

The one thing I do know for sure is that proudly flying my freak flag has empowered me to chart a unique course as an artist. There’s nothing I love more than to be in my own world… creating.

All along the way, I’ve discovered unconventional avenues that allowed me to disconnect from the traditional 9 to 5 grind. The result gifted me with independence and a life I love so much I’d marry it!

𝓕𝓻𝓲𝓮𝓷𝓭𝓼,
You know what’s easy? Being a spectator in life. To sit in the cheap seats and watch while gladiators are in the arena getting their brains beaten out. To every gladiator reading this… I salute you!
𝓣𝓸𝓷𝓲 ❤️

Image created by DALL E in Canva Pro by Toni Greathouse

My daddy said there’d be days like this. Friday couldn’t come fast enough. Decades ago, my father suggested I earmark one day a week to process. Last week was a weird one.

For anyone engaged in the hard work of being yourself, it’s important to take a day to relax, reflect, recharge, and regroup. I usually share a joke on Friday. Today, I’m just not in the mood.

Instead, I’m keeping it real. I’ve cryptically summarized what transpired in the preceding week in metaphor.

Image created by DALL E in Canva Pro by Toni Greathouse

Far too many people feel like life has dealt them a losing hand. Instead of playing their cards, they grouse and refuse to get in the game.

They forget how fortunate they are even to have access to the table. They fail to realize that they alone are responsible for throwing in their hand before the game even starts.

These people stand close to the table. They stare and seethe from the sidelines. They say snarky, meanspirited words that reallocate positive energy to the dark side.

They incessantly complain to people ➖ who can’t wait to tell you ➖ that you’ve been dealt an unfair hand.

Here’s the thing. You gotta take the high road. You got a seat at the table because you had the courage to open your mouth and ask to play.

Image created by DALL E in Canva Pro by Toni Greathouse

Courage is the quality that serves as the chips needed to get in the game.

Securing a seat at the table only sets you up for a short time. Staying in this situation takes skill. Before receiving the first card, you gotta be confident in your ability to play whatever hand you’re dealt.

It doesn’t matter which cards come off the pile. Sooner or later, You’ll have the winning hand. As long as you play with skill, you’ll always be welcome at the table.

The biggest secret in life is that the most elite players in the world only want to compete with people who consistently brings their ‘A’ game.

Image created by DALL E in Canva Pro by Toni Greathouse

Rant over. Feeling better. Thanks for reading❣️

🎤About Me ➖ Toni Greathouse 📢 ObservationsGrowing Older Bolder ️➖ Tale As Old As Time

--

--

Toni The Talker
Help Is Here

📢 Better 𝓷𝓸𝓽 Bitter➖Walking My Talk 💬 𝕱𝖎𝖈𝖙𝖎𝖔𝖓 𝓦𝖗𝖎𝖙𝖊𝖗 📘 Rewriting My Reality 𝓐𝖗𝖙𝖎𝖛𝖎𝖘𝖙❣️𝕮𝖆𝖗𝖎𝖈𝖆𝖙𝖚𝖗𝖊 𝕮𝖆𝖗𝖙𝖔𝖌𝖗𝖆𝖕𝖍𝖊𝖗📌