TUESDAY WITH TONI | MIGHTY MEN | IRON SHARPENS IRON

Let’s Hear It For The Boys

Highlighting Word Wranglers

Toni The Talker
Help Is Here

--

We are living at an inflection point in history. Technology has leveled the playing field. Today, we’re only separated by a sentence from anyone we want to speak to.

Case in point. The book Making Conversation: Seven Essential Elements of Meaningful Communication came out in 2021. It was written by Fred Dust the former CEO of the company IDEO.

The book was so engaging that I wanted to converse with the author. So, I typed the name FRED DUST, into Medium’s search bar. It led to his profile and a substantive, long-term conversation offline.

This is what makes Medium so compelling. A sense of solidarity between dissimilar writers awaits. All it takes is a willingness to step outside the confines of your comfort zone.

Something similar happened with another writer. We are as different as night is from the day. I discovered him in 2018. He’s a retired Police Chief who writes personal essays. What drew me in, pun intended, was his caricature art.

His name is John P. Weiss, and he writes what can best be described as “Hearticles.” His sublime personal essays are reflections of a life well lived. I wrote him a fan letter in 2019. He answered. See it pictured below. John took the time to send me a handwritten note by snail mail. It arrived in April 2019 and thrilled me to no end.

Handwritten letter from John P. Weiss… the custom crafted caricature is a cherished memento

My exploration of spirituality propelled me in the direction of Marcus aka Gregory Maidman. I stumbled across his pub HERE in 2023. It’s called ChannSpirations and Coincidences.

The editors of his pub made a home for my poem. Please read it below.

Marcus regularly sends me links to think pieces that give voice to what I feel but find challenging to articulate.

Rui Alves prompts in his pub Engage… now under the umbrella of Alchemy Publications, marked my entry into the poetry genre. I’m a lifelong poetry lover. Diego Perez, who writes under the pen name Yung Pueblo, is my current fav. His book “Inward” simultaneously opened my heart and mind.

I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention Henery X. He recently agreed to help out in the INKubator as a Zoom breakout room moderator. Henery always leaves the most affirming comments. You’ll recognize his signature lead in… “Your Award Worthy Offering,” which always makes me smile.

Channeling a delusional Norma Desmond at the end of the infamous movie Sunset Boulevard, “Mr. Demille… I’m ready for my close-up!”

Rodrigo S-C is a professional photographer and editor of the publication Full Frame. Read about it HERE. Then, peruse his profile to learn how he leaped into writing.

Bruce Coulter is another professional photographer who is unafraid to brave the elements to capture the perfect shot. Both have piqued my interest in expanding the realm of my artistic eye.

Image in Canva Pro by Toni Greathouse

Like a comet that streams in out of nowhere, Jay Squires words came crashing through the atmosphere. It coincided with a search for writers who take the time to craft content that goes beyond scratching the surface.

If you write well, I’ll stay the full 10, 12 or 20 minutes. The brilliant writers Frances Chiu, Toya Qualls Barnett, Deb Palmer and Marcia Abbroud can attest to this. The caveat is that each sentence must pave a path to the next. The result yields illuminating paragraphs that build to a satisfying conclusion.

Very recently, Jay shared his method to build organic connections HERE. The title says it all, “I’m Not an Elitist — I’m a Selectivist!” I appreciate the peek into his process that empowers him to generate $1,000 monthly. However, this post isn’t indicative of what he writes. You gotta dive with this guy… because he’s deep.

Leonard Tillerman is another enlightened soul. His recent bout with the Big C, has breathed life into a slew of posts that prove he’s put his priorities in the proper perspective.

🌬️Mitch brings me back because I’m curious to my core. Each post offers a bit more about the man behind the moniker. My husband claims that unchecked curiosity could well be the death of me — my reply. I’d die happy.

Thief is a poet beyond compare. The loop that left me wanting more began with his musings on Cheyenne. Once you step in, you won’t want out. His stream-of-consciousness post makes me want to wander through his mind.

When I think of wholehearted writing George J. Ziogas pops in my mind. His comments are so thoughtful that you know he not only read, but took the time to share an appropriate response. He doesn’t post alot about his background. So, I asked. Suffice it to say, when it comes to family he’s selfless. That’s why I read him on repeat.

Image created in Canva Pro

Last but not least are all the men who let me lead them on the Booster Club journey. I appreciate you all more than you know.

The Sturg【7】who’s living life loud and proud.
Prasanna Srinath Subhasinghe【11】striking a healthy balance.
Gerald Washington【13】finding his writing voice.
Paul Gardner【16】who rules six-word stories.
Theodore McDowell【31】poems that help others process grief.
Mike Butler【34】stories about sports and such.
Malky McEwan【38】dispensing writing instruction.
John Whye 【48】For your virtual tours of the Bay.
Charles McDonald 【50】setting the writing bar high.
Douglas Lim【54】uplifting with faith and inspiration.
Ted Czukor【57】figuring out what’s next.
Srini【64】anybody seen him? Missing the laughs.
Autistic Widower (“AJ”)【65】Sparking organizational ideas.
Jimwebster【66】the view on life from a seated position.

You all have enriched my reading experience. Thank you! Counting Down the Days in 2024➖ Making Every Day Count ❣️

🎤About Me ➖ Toni Greathouse 📢 Observations❤️ Growing Older Bolder❤️➖ Tale As Old As Time

Toni the Talker 🆘‿.*➴ Source ‿ Of ‿.*➴Support

INKubator: Artist In Residence. Piloting the Inaugural “Think Tank” Cohort. University of St. Francis. Joliet, IL/USA. Center for Innovation.

--

--

Toni The Talker
Help Is Here

📢 Better 𝓷𝓸𝓽 Bitter ➖ Walking My Talk💬 Making the Rest of My Life the Best of My Life❣️ 𝕱𝖎𝖈𝖙𝖎𝖔𝖓 𝓦𝖗𝖎𝖙𝖊𝖗 ✏️ 𝕮𝖆𝖗𝖎𝖈𝖆𝖙𝖚𝖗𝖊 𝓐𝖗𝖙𝖎𝖘𝖙