Happy Holidays, DON’T FORGET YOUR SELF CARE!!!!

Single. No kids. Not married. Alone. Messy. Dramatic. Lonely. Difficult.

Meliabia
Her Outlette
3 min readDec 20, 2018

--

These are just a few of the words I use to describe myself during the holidays. I tell myself the reason I’m spending yet ANOTHER holiday alone is because I’m all the words found above. I mean, why would anyone want to spend the holidays with someone like that? I know I wouldn’t and I certainly wouldn’t invite anybody like that to my grandmother’s house for family fun and great food if this is how I had to describe them before they walked in the room.

So why would anyone think that of themselves?

I know there are so many challenges that go around on the internet during the holidays; “How to buy all your Christmas gifts in one spot”, “How to enjoy the holidays and lose weight”, and my personal favorite, “How to get that hottie co-worker at the Christmas party”, maybe not completely against this one but still Ughhhhh…..

Ditch. Out. On. Alllllllaaaatttt.

I challenge you this holiday season to pour into yourself the way you pour into others. The way you let your cousin know “I’m trying to be like you when I grow up” as soon as you see them. Nah, this season we gonna be like WE when we grow up. I challenge you to talk to yourself like when you run into old high school friends and tell them all your accomplishments, but leave out the fact that you have gained some weight and can guzzle a bottle of wine every night before bed. I CHALLENGE YOU to love YOU this holiday season and not get wrapped up in what anybody else has to say about anything you do.

(Remember; Self Love Is always the answer)

SO WHAT you aren’t married. Would you want to be miserable during the holidays, spending them with someone you don’t even like?? For what? So you can have a date to the holiday party THAT YOU DON’T EVEN WANT TO GO TO? SO WHAT, you don’t have your shit together. THEY DON’T EITHER. THEY JUST LIE BETTER!!!

And most importantly, SO WHAT, YOU GOT DRUNK AND TOLD YOUR EX YOU LOVED AND MISSED HIM AND….. okay bro don’t do that. But if that’s how you truly feel, heyyy I’m game.

My point is, you can be exactly who you are and love yourself during this time of year. Don’t let those demon thoughts creep in and take over what should be a time for reflecting over the year, looking forward to the future, and being thankful for the present, exactly who you are, where you are, right now.

So, cheers to the holidays. May we love on ourselves like nobody ever could. They do say self pleasure is much more satisfactory than waiting on someone else’s if you know what I’m saying ;)

--

--