April Showers: Sleeping at Last

Honestly Ed
HonestlyEd
Published in
3 min readApr 9, 2021

--

The Inspiring Music of Ryan O’Neal
In recognition of National Poetry Month

In April 2020, I shared my first post of personal poems in recognition of National Poetry Month. This year, I am expanding beyond my poems to the beautiful and inspiring words that lift us and, hopefully, through these posts, lift us to our higher selves with purpose.

I offer this homage to Sleeping at Last because his music has given me so much life. His music expresses my core outlook on love and life in a way I never could without the complete companionship of his lyrics, music and voice. Sleeping at Last produces songs with the care of a doula steeped in the craft of natural birthing.

I discovered the music of Ryan O’Neal, the artist known as Sleeping at Last, mid-year 2015. I was in a coffee shop and a song with no vocals was playing as I waited for my cup of over-priced, bougeiouse coffee — a favorite past time. Something in the music caught my attention, so I immediately grabbed my phone and asked Google Assistant ‘what song is playing.’

The song was ‘Neptune’ by Sleeping at Last. It was haunting, ethereal and undeniably beautiful.

Neptune by Sleeping at Last (excerpt)

Stitch by stitch I tear apart
If brokenness is a form of art
I must be a poster child…

--

--

Honestly Ed
HonestlyEd

Insights, revelry, and beauty from an essayist, poet, and civic strategist.