L. martin shot by Kristina Pedersen

“Blue Skies” Premiere: The Walters’ Former Frontman Luke Olson Returns as L. martin

The energetic singer and performance artist shares a dreamy first track and video from his new project

Katie Ingegneri
houseshow magazine
Published in
3 min readNov 16, 2017

--

by Katie Ingegneri

Photography by Kristina Pedersen

Almost exactly 3 years ago, in November 2014, I was listening to a new band called The Walters for the first time, courtesy of The Orwells’ Mario Cuomo who was sharing links to the project on his Facebook. It was easy to get hooked on their catchy, neo-Beach-Boys vibe. By the early winter of 2015, both The Walters and I were plunging into Chicago house show life, and I watched them go from their first cramped house show of college students to touring with The Orwells, gathering crowds of obsessive young fans, and playing big Chicago festivals like Riot Fest and recently, Lollapalooza. But not long after this year’s Lolla performance, they shocked fans by saying they would not be continuing as a band.

The Walters’ frontman Luke Olson had always been a talented and energetic centerpiece of the group, who contrasted their mellow indie rock sounds with the high-energy, theatrical antics of a punk singer. We sat down for an interview at the beginning of 2017, and after he and The Walters parted ways, I knew it wouldn’t be long before he returned to the ears, eyes, and stages of the music scene. And lo and behold, here he is: as L. martin, with a new track and video, “Blue Skies.”

The “Blue Skies” video will immediately strike fans as classic Luke: stylish and funny, weird and cool — the varsity athlete meets actor meets rock star, set loose in the picturesque natural scenery of his Midwestern home. Stylistically, the track is in line with Luke’s mellower work with The Walters, albeit with a new take on life: “I’m almost 26,” he muses, “and I don’t feel so well-equipped.” The video’s progression following him from forest into lake evokes a baptism and rebirth: he may not know where he’s going, but he’s not going under.

Read Luke’s insights into his new project and post-Walters life:

In the months since The Walters ended, I have gotten back to work. I’ve had to hear the same question asked, “what are you gonna do now?” over and over. Like I have said at shows, there is no plan B. Just because the guys in The Walters decided to go a different route, does not mean that I am stopping. I now have the freedom to do as I please as an artist. For the new project, I’ve teamed up with fellow Chicago musician/producer, Luke Otwell. I’ve been bringing him demos, some more fleshed out than others, and with his help we build the song. I’m not concerned with achieving a cohesive sound, I simply just want to write songs and put them out without thinking too hard about it. I think you will hear once the album comes out that no two songs sound the same. I owe a lot to Luke Otwell for not only producing the album, but also adding instrumentation that I would have never come up with myself.

“Blue Skies” isn’t the most mainstream track I have available, but it offers a bit of insight into who I am and the fact that I am not trying to fit into any particular scene. My friend and former high school football teammate, Dylan Fout, came up to Kenosha, WI one morning and we shot the video in an hour or so. It’s a dramatic portrayal that is supposed to leave the viewer wondering whether it was supposed to be funny or serious. I am ready for this new chapter, and I can’t wait to get back on stage and perform. Performance art is where my heart lives and I’ll keep making songs so I can live on that stage.

Stay tuned for more to come from L. martin!

Stream the track at Spotify or download at lmartin.bandcamp.com!

Follow Houseshow on Facebook for our latest articles and up-to-date happenings on the rock music & culture scene in Chicago.

--

--

Katie Ingegneri
houseshow magazine

Writer, editor, music fan & curator. MFA — Naropa’s Jack Kerouac School. BA — McGill University, Montreal. Founder of Houseshow Magazine.