Day zero!

Yesterday you said tomorrow. Just do it!

I’ve just moved to beautiful Tauranga in New Zealand. Really, it’s beautiful. I could have shared with you guys spectacular pictures of this place. You know that, right? While your friends enjoy their vacations and your Instagram and Facebook walls are full of these pictures. Sea, surfing, beaches, summer, parties, beautiful girls, ….

But, I’d like to share a bit different story. Truth! I don’t want my life to look better than it really is. #nofilter

Let me introduce myself. I am a programmer. I have no work. I have the best girlfriend ever. I have to pay a mortgage every month, pay rent every week, buy food every day. I believe it is pretty standard. I am more than 15 000 km from my home. I miss my family and miss my friends.

I love programming. I enjoy that. That’s why I wrote this article, this one and also that one. All of them are about programming. But now I would like to write about something else. About an experiment.

Can I create profitable application faster than find a new job?

Here’s a plan. I’d like to create an application to manage my money. This will be a first version:

  • publish iOS version (iTunes)
  • publish Android version (Play store)
  • ability to subscribe the app
  • ability to log in by facebook and google
  • ability to add/update/delete account (bank, wallet, etc)
  • ability to add/update/delete group (with members/contacts, to split bills)
  • ability to add/update/delete transactions (with categories)
  • ability to add/update/delete category
  • show my current balance
  • show debts between group’s member

Well, I know it won’t be perfect. I don’t want to do it perfect. I just want to do it! I can’t count how many times I have already tried to create something. I always focused on ridiculous problems. Designed a database to handle millions of (not existing) customers. Spent days to find the right name.

Now, I want to focus on my goal. Publish the app. I want to create the app for myself. I want to use it. It won’t be next facebook. But it will make me happy. I want to know every single person who will subscribe the app. I believe there will be at least one. I will buy a flight ticket and grab a beer with him! For sure!

--

--

Jiří Otáhal
How I built profitable application faster than found new job

#ReactNative developer interested in doing apps faster 🏎 and animated 🖼. Author of http://savee.io , react-native-material-ui and react-native-motion