I Need to Build My AT-AT Walker, Guys

And Other Reasons Why I Am Taking a Week Off

Rachel Darnall
I Digress

Newsletter

2 min readMar 23, 2017

--

Christmas stocking stuffer that I have yet to even open

Everybody needs a break once in a while, even from doing the thing you love.

I want to remember what it feels like to have all the laundry done on the same day.

I want to vacuum in all the places no one can see.

My refrigerator looks like stank and so does my microwave and I can’t stand it anymore.

My sister-in-law is coming Wednesday and I want to do nothing but eat, talk and drink too much coffee while she’s here.

I want to read something that doesn’t involve scrolling.

I want to drive to the coast on a week day.

I want to just sit down and watch The Little Mermaid with my daughter.

I want to go more than 24 hours without looking at a screen.

Mostly, I really want to put together the AT-AT walker 3D puzzle that my sweet husband gave me for Christmas.

For all these reasons, I will be on vacation from Medium next week. I will be submitting a piece ahead for Iron Ladies, but if it runs next week I will not be responding to comments until I’m back. I’m not ignoring you I’m just soaking up the dampness on some Oregon beach.

Meanwhiles, check out this interview that Lauren Quigley did with me in Everyday Creators! I have never felt so famous in all my living days.

https://medium.com/everyday-creators/an-unexpected-journey-writing-with-rachel-darnall-96b6b518ab28#.d0li0d43r

--

--

Rachel Darnall
I Digress

Christian, wife, mom, writer. Writing “Daughters of Sarah,” a book on women and Christian liberty.