photo: @gosam

Family Time at Midnight

11pm-12:30am in the office

Gary Vaynerchuk
I. M. H. O.
Published in
2 min readOct 24, 2013

--

Last night I got together with 10 or so of my fellow VaynerMedia employees to jam on what we’re going to do for micro-content marketing around my book that’s coming out in a month.

For the first hour and a half we stayed focused and really got a lot done. We talked about the Facebook targeting options, Tumblr, Pinterest, and really got into some fun strategy. There was great banter back and forth, a lot of thoughts about a new app I’m about to launch that we’ll use to support the book, and I just generally had a blast with this wonderful crew.

Then something interesting happened.

From nine until about eleven, we got plenty of work done, but from eleven until about 12:30 we started really jamming together. Actually, there was a 60 minute debate about whether Medium will be successful one day or not. It was something where we got to see a lot of different perspectives from people. I think Steve from my crew opened something like six bottles of wine (which disappeared very quickly), and we just had a wonderful time. We segued into some philosophy, and things that are going on in the office at VaynerMedia, and used the opportunity to have a very honest, open discussion. Those 90 minutes very late at night in the middle of a long week are some of my fondest moments.

Many people underestimate the value of collaborative talk within mini-groups inside an organization. Last night’s 90 minutes was special. It felt like a family arguing over the dinner table about current events, and that’s exactly what I aspire to have my businesses be: A family.

If you found any value in this piece, it would mean a lot to me if you scrolled down and recommended it.

Want to do a deal with me? I’m accepting barter pitches around my new book. Check it out here.

--

--

Gary Vaynerchuk
I. M. H. O.

Family first! But after that, businessman. CEO of @vaynermedia. Host of #DailyVee & The #AskGaryVee Show. A dude who loves The Hustle @Winelibrary & the @NYJets