From Storytelling to Business Design

Some thoughts on the future of advertising

I’ve had a love hate relationship with advertising for as long as I can remember. Growing up, I was convinced that this is what I wanted to do for a living. Working alongside creative minds to help scale world class companies seemed like a worthy endeavour. So I indulged, under the belief that such a smart group of folks could quite literally help build systems (companies & products) that made the world a better place. While that overarching belief remains (we can and have helped great companies scale) I’ve become ashamed at the shear volume of rubbish that passes as acceptable work and my esteem for this industry’s current understanding of creativity has hit an all time low.

I hate to break it to you, but advertising was never actually about storytelling per se.

Stories were a means to an end, not an end in itself. Our end was, and is, to nudge consumer behaviour to the benefit of our clients brands. And it appears that we’ve forgotten this — both as agencies and as clients. We’ve let a means become our end and our end become that means.

--

--

Alexander Lynn
I. M. H. O.

Head of special projects @realventures. Formerly @techstars, @sidlee. Also @TEDxMontreal cofounder