Quotes for National Oyster Day

In honor of a seafood lover’s favorite aphrodisiac

Kiki Wellington
I quote, therefore I am.

--

Photo by JPCPROD on DepositPhotos

Whether they eat them for the taste, the nutritional benefits, or because they’re an aphrodisiac, seafood lovers can celebrate the oyster on August 5, which is National Oyster Day. Below are some quotes to honor this seafood favorite.

1. “He was a bold man that first ate an oyster.”
-Jonathan Swift

2. “In the sea of my emotions, his presence is like a pearl in the oyster. Very hard to locate, yet very precious and still beautiful.”
-Mehek Bassi

3. “Listen! Clam up your mouth and be silent like an oyster shell, for that tongue of yours is the enemy of the soul, my friend. When the lips are silent, the heart has a hundred tongues.”
-Rumi

4. “Indeed, I cannot think why the whole bed of the ocean is not one solid mass of oysters, so prolific the creatures seem. Ah, I am wandering! Strange how the brain controls the brain! What was I saying, Watson?”
-Arthur Conan Doyle

5. “Oysters are supposed to enhance your sexual performance, but they don’t work for me. Maybe I put them on too soon.”
-Garry Shandling

--

--