Quotes From The Smiths

The soundtrack of my teenage angst

Kiki Wellington
I quote, therefore I am.

--

Photo by mobilinchen on DepositPhotos

As a teenager in the eighties, the music of The Smiths perfectly encapsulated my adolescent angst. The gloomy lyrics, moody melodies, and lead singer Morrissey’s desperate whining were the perfect storm for a teen that felt misunderstood and isolated. And as an adult who still sometimes feels misunderstood and isolated, the band has a heavy rotation on my iPod during days I need a little doom and gloom. Here are some quotes from the band’s music, but be warned — much of this will be heavy reading.

1. “I dreamt about you last night
And I fell out of bed twice.”
-Reel Around The Fountain

2. “Fresh lilaced moorland fields
Cannot hide the stolid stench of death.”
-Suffer Little Children

3. “The devil will find work for idle hands to do
I stole and I lied, and why?
Because you asked me to!
But now you make me feel so ashamed
Because I’ve only got two hands
Well, I’m still fond of you.”
-What Difference Does It Make?

4. “Hand in glove
We can go wherever we please
And everything depends upon
How near you stand to me.”
-Hand In Glove

5. “I am the son
And the heir
Of a shyness that is criminally vulgar
I am the son and heir
Of nothing in particular.”
-How Soon Is Now?

--

--